Benny Joy - Rocks (CD)

SKU: BCD17645

$ 15.74 $ 20.99


-Bear Family Records® dedicates a CD album in its popular Rocks series to Benny Joy.
-For the first time ever, this R'n'R compilation combines his outstanding 1950s singles with a multitude of fantastic rocking band demos first released in the '70s and '80s!
-In addition to classics like Miss Bobby Sox, Crash The Party, Spin The Bottle, Button Nose, Rollin' The Juke Box Rock and Little Red Book, Bear Family also provides lesser-known gems like Wild Wild Lover, Gossip, Gossip, Gossip, I'm Gonna Move, Love Zone, two instrumental rockers Money, Money and Rebel Rock and and and ...!
-Carefully remastered edition; the beautifully illustrated booklet contains detailed liner notes by Roland Heinrich.

Benny Joy, who was born on November 5, 1935 in Atlanta, Georgia and whose real name was Benjamin Eidson, was an American rock & roll and rockabilly singer who released singles for Tri-Dec, Dixie, Antler, Ram and Decca during his music career. In 1958, Joy managed to be one of the first rockabilly singers to be part of a European tour, alongside the Platters, Barry DeVorzon and numerous other artists. The tour went through Italy, France and Germany, among other countries.
Benny Joy unfortunately failed to achieve commercial musical success and his singles are highly sought after in collector circles today, but he did have success as a songwriter under his civil name Benny Eidson and wrote songs for Marty Robbins, Jackie Wilson, Charlie Rich, Johnny Cash and Carl Smith, among others - and quite successfully! With the rock & roll and rockabilly revival of the 1970s and 1980s, his recordings were made available to the rock & roll public and hit like a bomb!
Bear Family Records® focuses primarily on the rare demo recordings from 1957/'58 unearthed by Cees Kloop and White Label from the 1970s onwards, which are of incredibly good quality and recorded with a full band.
Benny Joy died of cancer in October 1988 at the age of 52.

Track Listing

    • Crash The Party
    • I'm Gonna Move
    • Ittie Bittie Everything
    • Money Money
    • 'Hey' … High School Baby
    • Little Red Book
    • Gossip, Gossip, Gossip
    • Dark Angel
    • Miss Bobby Sox
    • I Need A Whole Lotta You
    • Love Zone
    • Nosey, Nosey Neighbors
    • Cold Cold Woman
    • Spin The Bottle
    • (What'll I Do) Call The Zoo
    • Rebel Rock
    • Little Girl, Little Girl
    • Rollin' The Juke Box Rock
    • Bundle Of Love
    • Steady With Betty
    • Indian Giver
    • Talking About It
    • Touchdown
    • Crash The Party (1978)
    • Spin The Bottle (Tri-Dec)
    • Button Nose
    • In Study Hall
    • Wild Wild Lover
    • I'm Doubtful Of Your Love
    • Come Back

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Pop/Rock

    Run Time: 79:00 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 02/02/24

    UPC: 4000127176455

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed