Bob Wills - Ida Red Likes The Boogie: Gonna Shake This Shack Tonight (CD)

Save 38%
SKU: BCD17647

$ 11.69 $ 18.99


Bob Wills is the undisputed 'King of Western Swing.' Whether he was the originator, the best fiddler, the best arranger, or whatever is an ongoing discussion among die-hard fans of the man and the genre. But Bob Wills put the big beat in country music and thus is long overdue in Bear Family's up-tempo hillbilly series 'Gonna Shake This Shack Tonight.'
This carefully compiled selection spans Bob Wills' career from 1939 until 1963 and picks material from his stints with Vocalion/Columbia and Kapp, Master, MGM, + Liberty. Among the highlights of the CD are several classics: the old blues Keep Knocking But You Can't Come In, which Wills had initially played with his erstwhile partner, the legendary Milton Brown, in the Fort Worth Doughboys; country writer Cindy Walker's gem Don't Be Afraid of Your Age; and the influential Twin Guitar Special.
Outstanding, however, is the tasteful compilation of Bob Wills's up-tempo dancefloor smashes - he was renowned for operating the best dance orchestra in the South-West, some say in the entire USA (but we leave that to the already mentioned die-hard fans and experts). Many of the (almost) career-spanning swing smashes may seem unfamiliar to those who have missed out on Bear Family's box sets of the man. Many featured string band sizzlers from various labels and periods have never been arrayed in that way.
Bob Wills mostly stuck to his tried-and-true formula. Still, this CD features concessions to trends such as hillbilly boogie and rockabilly, as well as picking on themes of contemporary pop lore, like spreading gossip about 'Jolie Blonde.'
The CD is a must for dancing and will make you smile. It proves once again that Bob Wills could catch his charisma and his band's fire on a platter and serve a tasty stew of various ethnic ingredients of American music, delivered with the bouncing beats of hot jazz and bawdy blues. Grab your partner and get to it. It will have you holler out 'Ah-Haah' in no time. Guaranteed!

Track Listing

    • There's Not A Hundred Miles Left In Me
    • Nothin' But The Best For My Baby
    • Charlie Changed His Mind
    • Steamboat Stomp
    • Keep Knocking But You Can't Come In
    • Don't Be Ashamed Of Your Age
    • I Didn't Realize
    • Ida Red Likes The Boogie
    • Trouble, Trouble Blues
    • Talkin' Bout You
    • So Let's Rock
    • Bottle Baby Boogie
    • The Devil Ain't Lazy
    • Twin Guitar Special
    • Snatchin' And Grabbin'
    • I'll Have Somebody Else
    • Yearning
    • What's The Matter With The Mill
    • Texas Drummer Boy
    • Cadillac In Model 'A'
    • Sugar Baby
    • Hubbin' It
    • Nothing But Trouble
    • Whoa Babe
    • Jolie Blond Likes The Boogie
    • I Laugh When I Think How I Cried Over You
    • Bring It On Down To My House
    • Rock-A-Bye Baby Blues
    • Pray For The Lights To Go Out
    • I Won't Be Back Tonight

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Country

    Run Time: 79:00 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 06/07/24

    UPC: 4000127176479

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed