Country & Western Hit Parade 1954 (CD)

SKU: BCD16959

$ 15.74 $ 20.99


1-CD-Album deluxe with 72-page booklet, 28 tracks; playing time: 74:03 minutes

The first six volumes covering 1945-1950 were released in 2008. Right away, the word was out. This series is definitive, fabulously packaged, and faultlessly remastered!
Jack Clement, who produced Johnny Cash, Roy Orbison, Waylon Jennings, Don Williams, and many others, said, 'this is the best country series of all time. No doubt. No question.'
Now the story continues from 1951 until 1955. Every CD is generously full. Every booklet is extensive and chocked full of rare photos and illustrations, as well as complete stories behind the songs!
In addition to the hits, the series contains rarities that went on to influence country music. and all music. in the years ahead.

The first six volumes of 'Dim Lights, Thick Smoke And Hillbilly Music,' took us from 1945-1950. Now the story continues, and will eventually end in 1970. The series has been compiled with today's fans in mind. Yes, the big hits are there, but so are the classic performances that weren't necessarily big hits at the time, but became influential in the years ahead. Every volume has incredibly detailed behind-the-scenes stories, fabulously rare photos, and an ongoing history of country music set against the backdrop of the broader American music business. The booklets alone are 72 pages! Definitive You bet!

Superlatives are often overplayed - although the many superlatives used in connection with the unrivalled Bear Family releases over the years are more than well justified - but such words of praise reach new heights with 'Dim Lights, Thick Smoke And Hillbilly Music' which spotlights the Country & Western Hit Parade. We pick up the story. 1954: The hits include Stuart Hamblen's original version of This Ole House, ...Read more at:

Track Listing

    • Shepard , Jean - This Ole House
    • Hamblen, Stuart - Rose Marie
    • Whitman, Slim - Bimbo
    • Reeves, Jim - Oh Baby Mine (I Get So Lonely)
    • Johnnie & Jack - I Really Don't Want To Know
    • Arnold, Eddy - Release Me
    • Price, Ray - Idaho Red
    • Ray, Wade - Slowly
    • Pierce, Webb - Looking Back To See
    • Browns, The - Take Me As I Am (Or Let Me Go)
    • Dickens, Little Jimmy - I Wouldn't Change You If I Could
    • Butler, Carl - You Better Not Do That
    • Collins, Tommy - One By One
    • Foley, Red & Kitty Wells - I'll Be There (If You Ever Want Me)
    • Price, Ray - I Closed My Heart's Door
    • Acuff, Roy - If You Ain't Lovin (You Ain't Livin')
    • Young, Faron - I Don't Hurt Anymore
    • Snow, Hank - Good Deal, Lucille
    • Terry, Al - Sparkling Brown Eyes
    • Pierce, Webb & The Wilburn Bro - Cry, Cry Darling
    • Newman, Jimmy - Too Hot To Handle
    • Burns, Sonny - If You Don't Somebody Else Will
    • Mathis, Jimmy Lee & Johnny - Blue Guitar
    • Wooley, Sheb - Two Glasses Joe
    • Tubb, Ernest - Truck Drivin' Man
    • Fell, Terry - Take It Away, Lucky
    • Noack, Eddie - Loose Talk
    • Smith, Carl - That's All Right

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Country

    Run Time: 74 mins

    Release Date: 11/16/09

    UPC: 4000127169594

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed