Greetings From Oklahoma (CD)

Save 38%
SKU: ACD25013

$ 7.38 $ 11.99


Lahoma, where the wind comes sweeping down the plain?

With the release of 'Greetings From Texas' and 'Greetings From Tennessee', '?and more bears records' inaugurated its project on regional music. Now we have added 'Greetings from Oklahoma, 'Greetings From Hawaii,' 'Greetings From Georgia,' and 'Greetings from Alabama. '

Each CD in the series features a generous collection of songs focused upon a particular state. In true '?and more bears' fashion, we will include both well-known titles (such as Oklahoma Hills and Everybody Does It In Hawaii) as well as more obscure items drawn from the 'deep catalogue' of numerous record companies. No matter how much of a patriot or a record collector you are, this series will manage to surprise you. Each entry will also feature a blend of famous artists like Hank Williams and Willie Nelson rubbing shoulders with singers who were barely household names in their own homes. Their common goal is to sing the pride of life in a particular state.

States have separate identities that help Americans distinguish themselves from one another. When 'Tonight Show' host Jay Leno happens to mention the name of a state during his nightly monologue, it's usually followed by scattered but wild cheering from the audience. Everyone understands. That noisy response is telling millions of people, ''I'm from there! I'm so proud of being from Tennessee or Alabama or Virginia that I'm sitting here shouting and applauding like a fool. '' Being proud of where you come from is a passionate business and sometimes that pride just can't be contained by national borders. This series is all about regional pride (''I'm an American, hell yes! But I'm also a Texan!'').

Each CD will be accompanied by a humorous but informative essay by music historian Hank Davis. The songs we select will represent the decades from the 1940s through the 1990s, Read more at:

Track Listing

    • Bobby Barnett - Oklahoma's OK
    • Jack Guthrie - Oklahoma Hills
    • Bob Wills - Take Me Back To Tulsa
    • Sons Of The Pioneers - The Everlasting Hills Of Oklahoma
    • Ella Mae Morse - Okie Boogie
    • Jack Guthrie - Oklahoma's Calling
    • Johnny Bond - Oklahoma Waltz
    • Charlie Walker - Moffet, Oklahoma
    • Bob Wills - Good Old Oklahoma
    • Sheb Wooley - Oklahoma Honky Tonk Girl
    • Louie Bashell - Oklahoma Boogie
    • Luke Wills - (Gotta Get To) Oklahoma City
    • Spade Cooley - All Aboard For Oklahoma
    • Paul Westmoreland - Oklahoma Bound
    • Wilf Carter - My Oklahoma Rose
    • Marvin Rainwater - Henryetta, Oklahoma
    • Luke Wills - Oklahoma Blues
    • Leon McAuliffe - Tulsa Straight Ahead
    • Al Vaughn - She's An Okie
    • Terry Fell - Ramblin' Okie
    • Jack Guthrie - For Oklahoma I'm Yearning
    • Merle Haggard - Okie From Muskogee

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Pop/Rock

    Run Time: 40 mins

    Release Date: 01/02/07

    UPC: 4000127250131

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed