Jerry Lee Lewis - Southern Roots: The Original Sessions (LP)

Save 38%
SKU: BAF218011

$ 35.08 $ 56.99
Only 3 units left


2-LP, 20 tracks. 180-gram vinyl, fold-out sleeve. Direct Metal Mastering. Manufactured by Pallas

The legendary 1974 sessions form the Trans Maximus Studios in Memphis, Tennessee featuring Jerry Lee Lewis - voc/piano, backed by Stax studio catts and members of the Blues Brothers band, and Booker T. & The MGs (Steve Cropper - guitar, Donald 'Duck' Dunn - bass, Al Jackson Jr. - drums), Carl Perkins - guitar, Tony Joe White - guitar, The Memphis Horns, a. m. o.

At long last here are the original session tapes that produced Jerry Lee Lewis' 1974 'Southern Roots' LP. Produced by Huey Meaux, a fellow Louisiana wildman, the final results reveal what happens when two fiery, free-spirited forces lock horns in the studio.

Meaux had just gotten out of prison and had a reputation you wouldn't want in your family tree. Separately, Meaux and Lewis each spelled trouble in a big way and could be impossible to work with. Together? God knows what would happen. The results could be an utter disaster or a stroke of genius. As Meaux later observed, ''I knew Jerry and I would fight, but in the end we'd come out with the record. We fought, but we delivered. ''

For three days in September, 1973 Jerry Lee Lewis and Huey Meaux went at it, and each other. Listen as Jerry Lee is turned loose in the studio by a producer who did try to rein in Jerry's ego. In fact, Meaux did everything he could to feed it. That ego is nowhere more evident than on Jerry's version of the Percy Sledge 1966 hit, When A Man Loves A Woman, which Jerry turns into a sermon on war between the sexes.

Jerry and Huey cut mostly southern music - soul, country, R&B and a touch of swamp pop. They even included a surprisingly impassioned version of Johnny Ray's 1952 hit record, Cry.

Little did we know that there was supposed to be a second 'Southern Roots' album. Only ten tracks ever appeared on the LP - a scant 34 minutes of music - but we've got it all here, Read more at:

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • What's So Sweet About Sweet Sixteen
  • Meat Man
  • When A Man Loves A Woman
  • Hold On I'm Coming
  • Just A Little Bit
  • Born To Be A Loser
  • Haunted House
  • Blueberry Hill
  • The Revolutionary Man
  • Big Blue Diamonds
Disc 2:
  • That Old Bourbon Street Church
  • Silver Threads Among The Gold
  • Hold On I'm Coming (fast version)
  • Take Your Time
  • All Over Hell And Half Of Georgia
  • I Sure Miss Those Good Old Times
  • Raining In My Heart
  • Honey Hush
  • Cry
  • Margie

Additional Details

Label: Bear Family Records

Genre: Pop/Rock

Run Time: 70 mins

Release Date: 08/02/13

UPC: 5397102180118

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed