Jim Ford - Demolition Expert-rare Acoustic Demos (CD)

SKU: BCD17257

$ 16.20 $ 18.99


1-CD-Album DigiPac (4-plated) with 32-page booklet, 30 tracks. Playing time approx. 79 mns

Unique home demos. 29 previously unreleased acoustic recordings from the mythical creator of 1969's 'Harlan County'. Hear Jim Ford's creativity captured by a private cassette recorder in his living room. Many tracks on this anthology would be potential hits in the hands of today's artists. Stunning musical moments are interrupted by friends, drug deals, etc. Liner notes by singer, songwriter, musician, artist (and Jim Ford fanatic) Jeb Loy Nichols.

Jim Ford is the mythic artist behind 1969's legendary country soul album 'Harlan County'. After recording his sole album he hung out with Sly Stone and wrote for artists and friends like Bobby Womack, PJ Proby, The Temptations & Nick Lowe before completely disappearing from the scene in a haze of drugs and irrational behavior. When Bear Family managed to track Jim Ford down in 2006 he was living in North California in a simple mobile home loaded with reel to reel tapes and cassettes. Some of these masters were included by Bear Family on popular anthologies like 'Sounds Of Our Time' and 'Point Of No Return. '

This brand new CD, 'Demolition Expert' (Jim Ford was a demolition expert when stationed in Germany during his stint in the U. S. army), sets focus on Jim Ford's acoustic home recordings. It is a unique opportunity for the listener to hear Jim Ford's creativity flow.

You're invited to Jim Ford's living room to witness him come up with some truly soul shattering musical moments. You will also hear Jim Ford be interrupted with drug deals on the phone and friends chattering and singing along. The recordings are a welcome and essential addition to any Jim Ford collection.

Track Listing

    • Looking Over My Shoulder (Still Alright After
    • We're Not Burning Bridges (We're Just Lying I
    • Heartaches By The Number
    • I'd Be Ahead If I Could Quit While I'm Behind
    • Throwing Footballs At Airplanes
    • It's Just A Picture Show
    • Out Of School, Educated Fools
    • L. A. Girl
    • Tonight
    • Happy Man
    • A Couple More Years
    • Ridin' On My Skateboard
    • Precious Jewel/Long Black Limousine
    • Demolition Expert/Under Construction
    • Ju Ju Man
    • You Win Again
    • Just Cause I Can
    • Jessie
    • Go Through Sunday
    • You Can't Take It With You
    • She's Got Her Own Way
    • Happy Songs Sell Records, Sad Songs Sell Beer
    • Ten Years And One Day
    • Girl, IÆd Love To Have You Back
    • Three Kinds Of Women
    • Stopping To Start
    • High Over Texas
    • Too Much Man
    • Interview excerpts

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Pop/Rock

    Run Time: 79 mins

    Release Date: 11/15/11

    UPC: 4000127172570

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed