Johnny Horton - The Fantastic Johnny Horton (LP)

Save 38%
SKU: BAF18008

$ 21.54 $ 34.99


180-gram vinyl

We've got to own up: the original 'Fantastic Johnny Horton' LP, released in 1959, didn't contain any of these recordings. Instead, it contained twelve early-mid 1950s Mercury recordings. But we have the truly fantastic Johnny Horton. Sixteen of his very best recordings from his years with Columbia Records. Here was the electricity, vibrancy, and presence that had barely been hinted at on Horton's earlier recordings. He worked with a very aggressive, prominently mixed rhythm section that included a string bass (Bill Black, sometimes!), a rhythm guitar, and Grady Martin on lead guitar. Martin played outrageous single string solos and fills. His slurs, chokes and bent notes, helped to create the vocabulary of rock'n'roll guitar right here. These are Johnny Horton's rock'inest recordings ... and they were made to be heard on vinyl. The highlights are too many. Every song is a classic. Just ask any of the artists, including Dwight Yoakam and George Jones, who have revived these songs!

Track Listing

    • Sal's Got A Sugarlip
    • Honky Tonk Hardwood Floor
    • Honky Tonk Man
    • I'm Coming Home
    • Honky Tonk Mind
    • Tell My Baby I Love Her
    • The First Train Headin' South
    • Lover's Rock
    • The Electrified Donkey
    • All Grown Up
    • Sugar Coated Baby
    • Let's Take The Long Way Home
    • Ole Slew Foot
    • Sleepy Eyed John
    • The Wild One
    • I'm Ready If You're Willing

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Country

    Run Time: 35 mins

    Release Date: 02/01/10

    UPC: 4000127180087

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed