Ronnie Self - Rocks (CD)

Save 15%
SKU: BCD17656

$ 17.90 $ 20.99


-His incredibly energetic Rock-A-Billy made Ronnie Self (1938 - 1981) from Missouri one of the very top artists of the genre!
-'Rocks' on Bear Family Records® delivers not only his first big hit Pretty Bad Blues (1956) but 32 more fantastic rockers.
-Alongside smash hits like the immortal Bop-A-Lena, the album includes Big Blon' Baby, You're So Right For Me, Ain't I'm A Dog and Rocky Road Blues as well as some demos and recordings from the 1960s.
-In keeping with the Bear Family standard, we have invested time and care to generate the best possible sound from the best possible sources.
-Extensive liner notes by Bill Dahl, together with many photos and illustrations in the 36 page booklet.
-'Rocks' is a wild trip for die-hard rockabilly fans and a highlight in our successful CD series.

They didn't call Ronnie Self 'Mr. Frantic' for nothing, as viewers of 'Ozark Jubilee' and folks that flocked to attend 'The Philip Morris Caravan' could readily attest. Self's raucous, livewire vocals were tailor-made for the emerging rockabilly movement, and his sides for ABC-Paramount, Columbia, Decca, and other major labels, which commenced in 1956 with a sizzling Pretty Bad Blues, have long mesmerized devotees of the genre. Bear Family's 33-song 'Ronnie Self Rocks' cuts a wide swath through Ronnie's career, from his seminal '50s rockers including Big Blon' Baby, You're So Right For Me, Ain't I'm A Dog, Rocky Road Blues and the immortal scorcher Bop-A-Lena (his only pop charter) and stripped-down early demos of Grandma's Rockin' and Money Honey to a fascinating series of '60s tapes that Ronnie made when he was primarily channeling his creative energies into songwriting. Struggles with destructive substances hampered Self's musical career as time went on and ultimately brought his life to a much-too-early end in 1981, but Ronnie left us some of the craziest, most unhinged recordings of the classic rockabilly era that still pack a full-fledged wallop today. Prepare for a wild ride!

Track Listing

    • This Must Be The Place
    • You're So Right For Me
    • Home In Your Hand
    • Three Hearts Later
    • Petrified
    • The Boss Daughter
    • Bop-A-Lena
    • Big Town
    • Houdini
    • My Own Kick Going
    • I Ain't Goin' Nowhere
    • Pretty Bad Blues
    • Wild And Wooly Life
    • Date Bait
    • Biggest Dog In Town
    • Flame Of Love
    • Big Fool
    • About Cured?
    • Rocky Road Blues
    • Bless My Broken Heart
    • Ain't I'm A Dog
    • Do It Now
    • Big Blon' Baby
    • When He Flies Away
    • Some Things You Can't Change
    • Black Night Blues
    • Too Many Lovers
    • Ugly Stick
    • Ain't I A Dandy
    • Instant Man
    • Get Out Of My Life
    • Grandma's Rockin' (Demo)
    • Money Honey (Demo)

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Pop/Rock

    Run Time: 79:00 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 09/06/24

    UPC: 4000127176561

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed