Little Brother Montgomery - Complete Recorded Works (1930-1936) (CD)

SKU: DOCD-5109

$ 14.99


Little Brother Montgomery is one of, if not the greatest all-round piano player of his time in the Deep South.

Little Brother Montgomery is one of, if not the greatest all-round piano player of his time in the Deep South. His high voice and generally mellow piano playing turned up on all kinds of settings from barrelhouse to jazz bands to influencing seminal post-war blues recordings. Buddy Guy's 'First Time I Met The Blues', the 1936 prototype of which is on this set. 'Vicksburg Blues is a sublime performance, whether it is in the fast Paramount version from September 1936 or any subsequent renditions. 'Mama You Don't Mean Me No Good' has the jazz/ragtime touches that often occur in Brother's later work: following this August 1935 track are the seventeen solo sides that Brother recorded at the Saint Charles Hotel in New Orleans on 16th October 1936 - a truly marathon session, with five accompaniments he recorded on the same day. The final three titles are piano solos: 'Farish Street Jive' is a knockabout piece based partly on 'Vicksburg Blues'. 'Crescent City Blues' has a ragtime tinge and 'Shreveport Farewell' develops this in a jaunty almost piano-roll like performance.


Cast & Crew


Track Listing

    • No Special Rider Blues
    • Vicksburg Blues
    • Louisiana Blues - take A
    • Frisco Hi-Ball Blues
    • The Woman I Love Blues
    • Pleading Blues
    • Vicksburg Blues No. 2
    • Mama You Don't Mean Me No Good
    • Misled Blues
    • The First Time I Met You
    • A. & V. Railroad Blues
    • Tantalizing Blues
    • Vicksburg Blues - No. 3
    • Louisiana Blues - take B
    • Santa Fe Blues
    • Something Keeps A Worryin' Me
    • Out West Blues
    • Leaving Town Blues
    • West Texas Blues
    • Never Go Wrong Blues
    • Sorrowful Blues
    • Mistreatin' Woman Blues
    • Chinese Man Blues
    • Farish Street Jive
    • Crescent City Blues
    • Shreveport Farewell

    Additional Details

    Label: Document Records

    Genre: Blues

    Language: English

    Run Time: 77 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 05/06/22

    UPC: 714298510928

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed