APB - The Radio 1 Sessions (CD)

Save 15%
SKU: LIB-5085

$ 14.50 $ 16.99
In stock (99 units), ready to be shipped


Scottish post-punk band APB nineteen track collection recorded for the BBC radio from 1981-84 featuring fifteen tracks previously unavailable

In 1979, APB was formed in the small rural town of Aberdeen, Scotland. Taking inspiration from the D.I.Y. ('Do It Yourself') spirit of punk rock, teenagers Iain Slater (singer, bassist), Glenn Roberts (guitar), and George Cheyne (drums) rehearsed relentlessly and signed with local independent Oily Records at the dawn of the 1980s. The band's trademark post-punk dance rhythms were there from the start, with debut single 'Shoot You Down' crackling with serrated guitar and Slater's native vocal inflections. APB was in lock step with similarly militaristic dance factions of the time -- Gang of Four, Au Pairs, Delta 5 -- but their own music was more celebratory and inclusive. Everyone was invited to an APB party.

'When I bought the second APB single, 'Shoot You Down,' I was blown away by the pure energy and sparse funk groove that drove the record,' said Matt Pinfield, former host of MTV's 120 Minutes. 'Over the course of the next few years, I saw the band live about 15 times. They would always pack clubs in New York, New Jersey, and Long Island -- anywhere they received airplay.' In 2018's Beastie Boy Book, band member Adam 'Ad-Rock' Horowitz referred to 'Shoot You Down' as a 'punk dance-floor classic.'

Over their 40 plus year career the Scottish post-punk band has released three studio albums and one singles compilation 'Something to Believe In'. The Radio 1 sessions compiles nineteen tracks recorded for the BBC radio featuring fifteen tracks never available on any APB recording. The performances were recorded throughout 1981-84 on various radio shows hosted by legendary UK DJs, John Peel, David Jensen and Peter Powell.

Track Listing

    • My Love (John Peel Session, 12/23/81)
    • Higher the Climb (John Peel Session, 12/23/81)
    • Crooner’s Lullaby (John Peel Session, 12/23/81)
    • From You and Back To You (John Peel Session, 12/23/81)
    • Danceability (David Jensen Session, 5/23/82)
    • Crazy Grey (David Jensen Session, 5/23/82)
    • Stop Before I Go (David Jensen Session, 5/23/82)
    • Out Of Town (David Jensen Session, 5/23/82)
    • Got It In One (John Peel Session, 12/13/82)
    • Play It (John Peel Session, 12/13/82)
    • Wonderdrug (John Peel Session, 12/13/82)
    • Back Inside Your Heart (John Peel Session, 12/13/82)
    • Hypnotic Love Affair (Peter Powell Session, 8/9/83)
    • Don’t Close the Door (Peter Powell Session, 8/9/83)
    • Take Me To A Good Place (Peter Powell Session, 8/9/83)
    • What Kind Of Girl? (David Jensen Session, 3/29/84)
    • You Can’t Have Her (David Jensen Session, 3/29/84)
    • Something To Believe In (David Jensen Session, 3/29/84)
    • So Many Broken Hearts (David Jensen Session, 3/29/84)

    Additional Details

    Label: Liberation Hall

    Genre: Alternative/Punk

    Run Time: 76:41 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 06/07/24

    UPC: 089353508524

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed