Phil Alvin - County Fair 2000 (LP)

Save 15%
SKU: LIB-5203

$ 21.30 $ 24.99


The former Blasters frontman's second solo album rereleased for its 30th anniversary on CD and vinyl debut with liner notes by journalist Chris Morris

Never before available on vinyl, the former Blasters frontman's second solo album is a bluesy-rootsy set that has, in the words of NPR, 'room in [its] melting pot for ragtime, doo-wop, country music, the blues, and lots more.' More than just an engaging document of full-spectrum Americana, the album (which Alvin characterized as 'American minstrel music') features guests including Los Lobos' Cesar Rosas, Billy Boy Arnold, the Dirty Dozen Brass Band, the second incarnation of the Blasters (after brother Dave Alvin went to pursue his own solo career), local LA blues rock legend Top Jimmy Koncek, and members of Phil's jazz side project, the Faultline Syncopators.
Veteran rock journalist Chris Morris has penned in-depth new liner notes that include observations from the Blasters' James Intveld and John Bazz, plus the original album's art director, Ed Boswell.

The album received a warm critical reception on its release, even if it struggled to find commercial success to match it. Trouser Press wrote that 'it's a marvel to hear such musty chapters from music's history books brought to robust modern life in the hands of such a well-versed scholar.' The St. Petersburg Times weighed in with, 'while there is an understated attempt to preserve the musical forms, these fun-loving performances extend beyond the usual archivist or traditionalist boundaries.' And AllMusic says that 'County Fair 2000 leaves no doubt that Phil Alvin is a premier musicologist, preserving and staying true to what he loves.'

This release comes on the heels of Liberation Hall's releases of Alvin's debut album, Un 'Sung Stories,' and Mandatory: The Best of the Blasters, a definitive 20-song collection of the band's hits and deep cuts. Liberation Hall plans further releases throughout the next year in celebration of the Blasters' 45th anniversary.

Track Listing

    • County Fair
    • Wreck Your V-8 Ford
    • The Blue Line
    • That Thing
    • Turnin' Blues Into Gold
    • Keep In Touch
    • What's the Reason I'm Not Pleasin' You
    • She Loves So Good
    • Callin' Corinne
    • The Terror
    • Mr. Satellite Man
    • Low Down Rhythm
    • Didn't He Ramble

    Additional Details

    Label: Liberation Hall

    Genre: Pop/Rock

    Run Time: 41:29 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 09/20/24

    UPC: 089353520328

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed