Jackie Leven - Live Or Die (Live In Bremen 1999 & 2004) (CD)

Save 15%
SKU: MIG02922

$ 22.10 $ 25.99
In stock (55 units), ready to be shipped


For the first time two great live concerts by Jackie Leven, from May 1999 and March 2004, available in a 4CD box

The singer-songwriter, folk musician and storyteller Jackie Leven, born in 1950 in Kirkcaldy, Scotland, the son of an Irishman and a Roma, began his musical career in the late 1960s under the pseudonym John St. Field, under which he also recorded his first album 'Control' in 1973. Inspired by punk, he founded the band Doll by Doll in London in 1978. The band's emotional, psychedelic-tinged New Wave was very well received live, but the band's four albums did not achieve the expected commercial sales results. After Doll By Doll disbanded in 1983, Jackie Leven focussed on his solo career. However, after a number of personal and health-related strokes of fate, it was not until 11 years later that this took off with the release of the album 'The Mystery of Love Is Greater Than the Mystery of Death'.

Jackie Leven also used several pseudonyms, for example he released three albums under Sir Vincent Lone with songs that were too out of the ordinary for his image as a folk musician. Leven died in 2011 at the age of 61 after a long, serious illness. His musical legacy also includes two concerts that Jackie gave in Bremen in 1999 and 2004, which were recorded by the broadcaster in the usual excellent sound quality. The 1999 concert in the Bremen music club 'Moments' was performed by Jackie solo, in 2004 in the Radio Bremen broadcasting hall he was accompanied on keyboards by his long-time friend and web companion Michael Cosgrave.


Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Intro
  • Stranger On The Square
  • ad lib: Jackie Talking About Football (Soccer)
  • Call Mother A Lonely Field
  • ad lib: Jackie Talking About Andy White (Irish Singer)
  • Looking For Love
  • The Crazy Song
  • Jim O´Windygates
  • I Saw My Love Walk into Clouds
Disc 2:
  • Marble City Bar
  • Universal Blue - Poortoun
  • ad lib: Jackie Talking About City Life
  • Single Father
  • ad lib: Jackie Talking About His Son Simon
  • Men In Prison
  • ad lib: Jackie Talking About St. Kitts & Nevis
  • Gylen-Gylen
Disc 3:
  • Single Father
  • ad lib: Butterfly
  • My Philosophy
  • Fly
  • ad lib: Alvis Green
  • Alvis Green
  • ad lib: Glen Matlock is drinking…
  • Empty In Soho Square
  • A Little Voice In Space
  • Classic Northern Diversions
Disc 4:
  • ad lib: Little Brown Box
  • Little Brown Box
  • Poortoun
  • ad lib: Certain German Places
  • Exit Wound
  • Call Mother A Lonely Field
  • Tied -Up House
  • Live Or Die

Additional Details

Label: Made In Germany Music

Genre: Pop/Rock

Run Time: 202:49 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 06/07/24

UPC: 885513029225

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed