The Brat - Straight Outta East L.A. (CD)

SKU: ROC-3368

$ 14.99


The Brat was a Chicano punk rock ensemble originating from the barrios of the East Los Angeles, California

The Brat was a Chicano punk rock ensemble originating from the barrios of the East Los Angeles, California. Its three core members consisted of lead singer Teresa Covarrubias, lead guitarist Rudy Medina, and alternate lead & rhythm guitar player Sid Medina. From their conception in 1979 to their eventual break-up in 1985, The Brat contributed to the customization and meshing of multiple musical and cultural models that culminated in the distinct East Los Angeles, Chicano punk sound.

The Brat, a hardworking and politically-conscious band, nurtured the Do-It-Yourself punk scene of East L.A., which was defined by unofficial venues and backyard shows because the wealthier West L.A. circuit controlled the popular market. By the time the famous Club Vex was founded in 1980 - by Los Illegals frontman Willie Herron, who desired an official venue to host East L.A.'s numerous underrated bands, who were mostly Chicano - The Brat had become one of the biggest acts in the area.

In late 1980, The Brat was signed as the flagship band of the upstart label of another local punk group, The Plugz' Fatima Records. This collaboration resulted in The Brat's only recorded album, the EP Attitudes, a five-song collection of some of their popular originals featuring Covarrubias' aggressive, yet melodic, punk vocals critiquing social inequality and Rudy Medina's, who was called Rudy Brat, urgent guitar hooks over drums with a reggae feel. The Brat never found breakthrough success and remained an underground East L.A. Chicano act until breaking up in the late '80s.

Contains all 5 tracks from the long 'out of print' 'Attitudes' EP, the rest of the songs were performed and recorded during the few years 'The Brat' were together but never released, Most of those recordings were unmixed or were left unfinished until members came back into the studio and finished the songs in recent years.


Watch video premiere courtesy of THE BIG TAKEOVER »

Track Listing

    • Slaughter Of An Ancient Tribe
    • Vicious Love
    • Swift Moves
    • Leave Me Alone
    • Starry Night
    • Tombstone Blues
    • The Wolf
    • The Promise
    • High School
    • Misogyny
    • Brain Sparks
    • Attitudes
    • Corner of the World
    • The Cry
    • Indian Ink Tears
    • Hard Sometimes
    • Believe
    • Just Another Day
    • Soldier
    • It's A Climb
    • We Are the One

    Additional Details

    Label: RockBeat Records

    Genre: Alternative/Punk

    Language: English

    Run Time: 55:10 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 08/18/17

    UPC: 089353336820

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed