Max's Kansas City: 1976 & Beyond (CD)

Save 15%

$ 14.50 $ 16.99


The original Max's Kansas City 1976 pioneering punk club album, extended with an extra 30 tracks and historical notes.

max's kansas city is the legendary New York City nightclub that became the focal point for the city's hip artistic community from the late 60's until the early 80's. In its initial period it was famously often populated by Andy Warhol's Factory crowd, and played host to new artists such as the Velvet Underground, New York Dolls, the Stooges, Bruce Springsteen and countless others. It became a base for jet-setters, glam rockers and celebs, until the scene faded and it shut its doors at the end of 1974. Reopened in 1975 under new management, Peter Crowley was hired as music director. The new young bands he booked helped spawn, in tandem with CBGBs, the New York City punk scene. In 1976 Peter compiled a studio album of acts associated with the club, 'Max's Kansas City 1976', to help promote the club. It featured the first released recordings of Suicide, The Fast and Warhol-era veteran Wayne County, whose title-track gave a roll-call of many of the famous acts who'd regularly performed there. Now the original album is reissued as 'Max's Kansas City 1976 & Beyond', greatly extended to 40 tracks on a double-CD and a selection of 25 tracks on a double-LP. As well as the aforementioned Suicide, Fast and Wayne County, the new extended album features the New York Dolls, the Stillettos, the Offs, the Senders, Philip Rambow, VON LMO, Iggy Pop, Knots, Roland Alphonso, Cherry Vanilla, Nico, Joy Ryder, Johnny Thunders & the Heartbreakers and Sid Vicious amongst many others. It includes many previously unreleased tracks and rarities. Compiled by Peter Crowley, who also contributes notes detailing the history of the album. Writer, musician and Max's scenester Jimi LaLumia provides historical overview sleeve-notes along with biographies of the artists in a 20-page booklet. 40 Tracks (25 on 2xLP)


track premiere courtesy of DANGEROUS MINDSfeature in ROLLING STONE

Bonus Materials

  • 30 tracks extra to the original 1976 compilation.
  • 30 tracks extra to the original 1976 compilation.
  • 30 tracks extra to the original 1976 compilation.
  • 30 tracks extra to the original 1976 compilation.
  • 30 tracks extra to the original 1976 compilation.
  • 30 tracks extra to the original 1976 compilation.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Wayne County and the Backstreet Boys - Max's Kansas City
  • The Fast - Boys Will Be Boys
  • Harry Toledo - Knots
  • Cherry Vanilla and her Staten Island Band - Shake Your Ashes
  • Wayne County and the Backstreet Boys - Cream In My Jeans
  • The Fast - Wow Pow Bash Crash
  • Wayne County and the Backstreet Boys - Flip Your Wig
  • John Collins Band - The Man In Me
  • Suicide - Rocket USA
  • The Fast - Kids Just Wanna Dance
  • Philip Rambow - Night Out
  • Suicide - Ghost Rider
  • New York Dolls - Bad Girl
  • The Stilettos - Pink Stilettos
  • The Knots - Heartbreaker
  • The Senders - 6th Street
  • Jimi Lalumia & the Psychotic Frogs - Death To Disco
  • The Brats - First Rock Star on the Moon
  • The Offs - You Fascinate Me
  • The Terrorists - Riis Park
  • Roland Alphonso & the Terrorists - Sax Skandal
Disc 2:
  • Von LMO - This Is Pop Rock
  • Fast Floyd & the Famous Firebirds - Frogs Legs
  • Cellmates - Everybody Wants
  • Science - Twisco
  • BMTs - Clothes & Alchohol
  • Keiran Liscoe & the Attitude - Hello St. Vincents
  • Freddy Frogs - Days On Earth
  • Joy Ryder - Johnny Was A Fireman
  • Sea Monster - Halloween In Detroit
  • Ruby & the Rednecks - Ruby From The Wrong Side of Town
  • Joey Kelly Allstars - Amanda
  • Philippe Marcade - All Quite Wasted
  • Jayne County - Max's Kansas City (reprise)
  • Iggy Pop - Rock Action
  • Nico - Saeta
  • Gang War - These Boots Are Made For Walking
  • Johnny Thunders & the Heartbreakers - M.I.A.
  • Sid Vicious & The Idols - Take A Chance

Additional Details

Label: Jungle Records

Genre: Alternative/Punk

Language: English

Run Time: 150 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 05/05/17

UPC: 5013145212172

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

You may also like

Recently viewed