Sir John Betjeman & Mike Read - Sound Of Poetry (CD)

Save 10%

$ 13.50 $ 14.99
Out of Stock


Mike Read's melodies were inspired by Sir John Betjeman's poems, 4 tracks recorded with Sir George Martin.

MIKE READ has always loved writing, reading and performing music and poetry. Whilst reading poetry from the late SIR JOHN BETJEMAN it opened the musical floodgates and over the years he wrote melodies which came into his head. He played several early demos to Lady Betjeman and she was supportive of the project. He then approached SIR GEORGE MARTIN who loved the project and got involved in the first four songs who then bought on board ROD EDWARDS to complete the album's production. CD2 was produced by JON SWEET. Mike approached artists that he thought were absolutely right for each song and CLIFF RICHARD, DAVID ESSEX, COLIN BLUNSTONE, GENE PITNEY and STEVE HARLEY are just a few of the talented individuals who were involved in this 30 track 2CD set.

Track Listing

    • CLIFF RICHARD / November Night
    • MARC ALMOND / Narcissus
    • DON MCLEAN / Farewell
    • PAUL YOUNG / Greenaway
    • JON ANDERSON / Youth & Age
    • RICHARD SHARP / Pershore Station
    • GENE PITNEY / Myfanwy at Oxford
    • LEO SAYER / Indoor Games
    • DONOVAN / Moira McCavendish
    • MIKE READ / DistantView
    • COLIN BLUNSTONE / In Memory
    • THE RODOLFUS CHOIR / Sunday Morning-Conducted by RALPH ALLWOOD
    • DAVID ESSEX / Myfanwy
    • JUSTIN HAYWARD / Tregardock
    • STEVE HARLEY / Harrow on the Hill
    • DONOVAN / Newest Bath Guide
    • ELLIOTT FRISBY / Archibald
    • ANNIE HASLAM / Hunter Trials
    • MIKE READ / Subaltern's Love Song (Joan Hunter Dunn)
    • ETON COLLEGE CHAPEL CHOIR / May Day Song for North Oxford
    • CAPTAIN SENSIBLE / Parliament Hill Fields
    • IAN MACNABB / Slough
    • STUDENTS OF ARCHITECTURE / NW5 8x N6 (Highgate at Eventide)
    • ALVIN STARDUST / Executive
    • MIKE READ / The Fete Champetre
    • CANTABILE / Upper Lambourne
    • SIMON BOWMAN / Late Flowering Lust
    • ALVIN STARDUST / Christmas

    Additional Details

    Label: Angel Air

    Genre: Pop/Rock

    Run Time: 120 mins

    Release Date: 02/24/09

    UPC: 5055011702882

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed