Sophie Barker - Break The Habit (LP)

Save 15%

$ 16.20 $ 18.99


Sophie Barker's third album is sophisticated, sexy and stylish, full to the brim of lush sonic surprises

Sophie Barker's distinctive and critically acclaimed vocal range, paired with her emotional song-writing skills, have yielded world-wide chart-topping singles, million-selling albums and music collaborations with artists as diverse as David Guetta, Zero 7, Groove Armada, The Egg and Robin Guthrie (Cocteau Twins).

Perhaps best known as one of the trio of original Zero 7 singers, alongside Sia and Mozez, Sophie's long-awaited 3rd solo album, 'Break the habit' took 4 years to record but sees her more comfortable than ever in her own skin.

Undoubtedly her best work to date, the LP effortlessly flows between her upfront live sound, finely-honed from intense touring and appearances with her band at festivals and venues across the UK and USA, and more atmospheric, mood-driven electronica.

Produced by Alex Pilkington, and written by her, with collaborations from Alex, Robin Guthrie, Kevin Kerrigan, Paul Silver and her band, the album pours out of your speakers like honey. The album commences with the hypnotic tremolo guitar and soothing vocals of 'Break The habit' colliding with a time-less low-slung drum groove and then 'Start Me' drops the listener into a haunting world of dream-pop.

The first single from the LP 'I Do It to Myself' ups the tempo, as jangly guitars and synths drive this sexy-strut of a song into the esoteric harpsichord breakdown, before the effortlessly catchy eponymous chorus hooks you back in. A stunning and totally justified cover of Fleetwood Mac's 'Gold Dust Woman' confirms the breadth of Sophie's vocal range, before the electronic loops, edgy synths, analogue fx and melancholic vocal delivery of 'Let's Start Again' nail the atmospherics on the second single from the LP and sumptuous LP outro.

Sophisticated and stylish, packing a punch and full to the brim of lush sonic surprises, it's another stunning album from this sultry songstress.

Track Listing

    • Break the Habit
    • Start Me
    • I Do it to Myself
    • 3 Things
    • Road 66
    • Gold Dust Woman
    • Don't Give It Away
    • Breathe Me In
    • Let's Start Again

    Additional Details

    Label: Disco Gecko Recordings

    Genre: Pop/Rock

    Language: English

    Run Time: 44:24 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 02/10/17

    UPC: 5038719005417

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed