Destination Jail, Vol. 2 (CD)

SKU: BCD17709

$ 8.99 $ 11.99


-With 'Destination Jail, Vol. 2', Bear Family Records® offers another intriguing collection of blues and rhythm & blues obscurities and classics from the '40s to the '60s about life behind bars.
-It deals with the various elements of the US justice system: prison = county farm, chain gang; jail and penitentiary.
-Among the better-known highlights are Jailhouse Rock by Frankie Lymon, the heartbreaking Please Mr. Jailer by Wynona Carr, the Prisoner's Song by Fats Domino - in this case a classic from the Anglo-Celtic tradition - and the tongue-in-cheek Good Morning Judge by Wynonie Harris.

Incarceration is a frequent theme in American roots music, especially in blues and rhythm & blues. African American life in the New World started in chains and endured slavery and segregation. Despite significant changes initiated during the second half of the 20th century, equality has not yet reached all strata of society.
The percentage of African Americans sentenced to time in prison is considerably higher than that of other demographic groups. Frequent analysis also reveals statistics that African Americans most likely receive longer prison sentences than white Americans.
This is a sensitive topic, and one might wonder how this compilation of African American popular music from the 40s to 60s fits into the lighter and novelty-laden 'Destination' Series. See and listen for yourself.
This compilation offers various styles. It also presents multiple viewpoints - from gallows humor, the laughing-to-keep-from-crying approach, the cry for help, and the promise of redemption.
Bear Family Records®' new compilation, 'Destination Jail, Vol. 2' is an exciting and wallet-friendly introduction to a significant African American roots music topic.
Also available: 'Destination Jail, Vol. 1' (BCD17689)!

Track Listing

    • Sonny Knight - But Officer
    • Wynonie Harris - Good Morning Judge
    • Frankie Lymon - Jailhouse Rock
    • Smiley Lewis - Jailbird
    • Danny Cobb - Hey, Mr. Warden
    • Lonsesome Sundown - My Home Is A Prison
    • Eddie Boyd - I'm A Prisoner
    • Ottilie Patterson - Jailhouse Blues
    • Roosevelt Sykes - Jailbait
    • Billy Boy Arnold - Prisoner's Plea
    • El Pauling and Royal Abbit - Jail Bird
    • Josh White - Ball And Chain Blues
    • T-Bone Walker - Prison Blues
    • Wynona Carr - Please Mr. Jailer
    • André Williams - Jail Bait
    • The Robins - Riot In Cell Block No. 9
    • Joe Jones - The Prisoner's Song
    • Sonny Knight - Jail Bird
    • Willie Nix - Prison Bound Blues
    • Magic Sam - 21 Days In Jail
    • Theola Kilgore - Chain Gang - The Sound Of My Man
    • Fats Domino - Prisoner's Song
    • The Prisonaires - A Prisoner's Prayer
    • The Larks - When I Leave These Prison Walls

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Blues

    Run Time: 70:00 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 03/08/24

    UPC: 4000127177094

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed