That'll Flat Git It! Vol. 45: Rockabilly & Rock 'n' Roll From The Vaults Of Imperial Records (CD)

SKU: BCD17677

$ 15.74 $ 20.99


-The 45th edition in the popular 'That'll Flat Git It!' CD series on Bear Family Records® explores the rockabilly and R'n'R catalog of Imperial Records, a genre-busting L.A. label.
-Among the popular rock stars on Imperial were Ricky Nelson, The Burnette Brothers, Merle Kilgore, Lew Williams, Laura Lee Perkins, Dennis Herrold, Jackie Walker and Bob Luman.
-Lesser known but musically by no means less important names round off the project.
-Extensive liner notes by Chicago music historian Bill Dahl and remastered recordings from the best possible sources provide additional listening pleasure - non-stop rocking!

Lew Chudd's Los Angeles-based Imperial Records had the roots music field covered like a blanket during the '50s: country, rockabilly, R&B (especially of the New Orleans variety), and several more sub-genres distinguished its catalog in great abundance. Bear Family's 'That'll Flat Git It! Vol. 45' is devoted to a deep dive into Imperial's vast archives, digging up 35 gems by some of the label's top names. Three rockers by Imperial's favorite teen idol Ricky Nelson are aboard, as are classics by The Burnette Brothers, Merle Kilgore, Lew Williams, Laura Lee Perkins, Dennis Herrold, Jackie Walker, and Bob Luman. But this series is known for its super-obscurities, so there are plenty of those on offer by Tommy Lomonte, The Leen Teens, Jay Blue, Sonny Anderson and Slick Slavin, just for starters. Freddy Fender in his formative years and New Orleans jump blues shouter Roy Brown are here too, and there's a flat-out slab of romping Crescent City R&B by the fiery Gloria Jean Pitts. This set is a non-stop rocking delight!

Track Listing

    • Tommy Lomonte - Yeah, Yeah, Yeah
    • Ricky Nelson - Shirley Lee
    • Bob Luman - Wild Eyed Woman
    • Roy Brown - Saturday Night
    • Gloria Jean Pitts - I Don't Stand No Quittin'
    • Merle Kilgore - Everybody Needs A Little Lovin'
    • Gene Henslee - Rockin' Baby
    • The Burnette Brothers - My Honey
    • Slick Slavin - Speed Crazy
    • Jackie Walker - Only Teenagers Allowed
    • Bob Luman - Blue Days, Black Nights
    • Merle Kilgore - Ernie
    • Ricky Nelson - One Of These Mornings
    • Laura Lee Perkins - Kiss Me Baby
    • The Leen Teens - So Shy
    • Jay Blue - Get Off My Back
    • Dennis Herrold - Don't Push Away
    • Ronnie Smith - Long Time No Love
    • Ricky Nelson - Milk Cow Blues
    • Roy Brown - Slow Down Little Eva
    • Sonny Anderson - Yes, I'm Gonna Love You
    • Lew Williams - Don't Mention My Name
    • Nick Venet - Love In Be Bop Time
    • The Sidewinders - Sidewinder
    • Bob Luman - This Is The Night
    • Freddy Fender - Mean Woman
    • Ronnie Diamond - Life Begins At 4 O'Clock
    • Bobby Jay - Sweet Little Stranger
    • Dennis Herrold - Make With The Lovin' (unedited)
    • Jackie Walker - Good Good Feeling
    • Merle Kilgore - Start All Over Again
    • Bob Luman - Red Cadillac And A Black Moustache
    • Gene Henslee - Diggin' N' Datin'
    • Dub Dickerson - Sugar Lips
    • Jack Tucker - Lonely Man

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Pop/Rock

    Run Time: 79:00 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 03/08/24

    UPC: 4000127176776

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed