Eddie Bond - Rocks (CD)

SKU: BCD17726

$ 15.74 $ 20.99


-Eddie Bond Rocks! 35-track CD on Bear Family Records® contains the very essence of Memphis rockabilly.
-14 recordings from Bond's '50s career (recorded for Ekko, Mercury and Sun/PI), 15 tracks recorded for Millionaire, Stomper Time etc. in the '60s, and six songs from his rockabilly revival years of the 1970s.
-The booklet contains a detailed biography by Martin Hawkins based on interviews with Eddie Bond a.o., full session details and phenomenal period photos.

Very few singers had a better rocking pedigree than Eddie Bond. He was born in Memphis, so when he made his first discs in 1955 and 1956 he was at the epicenter of the new rockabilly sounds. He became identified as the 'rockin' daddy from ding dong Tennessee' described in his best-selling disc. Through 1956 to 1959, Bond was hot stuff, playing shows with Elvis Presley, Carl Perkins, Johnny Cash and all the other singers from Memphis whose music spoke to a whole new generation.
Eddie Bond (1933-2013) started and ended as a country singer, but his bands always contained musicians who could play rockabilly with the best of them. From his first sessions to his last Eddie always chose to record some rocking songs. His Mercury discs with Reggie Young on guitar were classics of the rockabilly style. Later, Eddie became a Memphis disc jockey, night club owner, record label owner, and more. This rocking 35-track CD contains the very essence of Memphis rockabilly. Here are 14 recordings from Eddie Bond's 1950s career (recorded by Ekko, Mercury and Sun/PI), 15 tracks recorded for his own and other local labels (Millionaire, Stomper Time etc.) in the 1960s, and 6 recordings from his rockabilly revival years of the 1970s when he became a favorite visitor to Europe. His obituary in the 'Memphis Commercial Appeal' said: 'Mr. Bond was many things: a sharp wheeler-dealer with a silver tongue; a canny trend-watcher with a keen eye for talent, a slicked-back rockabilly cat with a country heart.' - Eddie Bond rocks!!

Track Listing

    • Rockin' Daddy
    • Blue Suede Shoes
    • Juke Joint Johnnie
    • Boppin' Bonnie
    • Here Comes The Train
    • Monkey Business
    • Broke My Guitar
    • Fool About You
    • Look Like A Monkey
    • Flip Flop Mama
    • One Way Ticket
    • Big Boss Man
    • Candy Kisses
    • No. 9 Train
    • Running Drunk
    • The Monkey And The Baboon
    • Tore Up Over You
    • Slip, Slip, Slippin' In
    • Talking Off The Wall
    • I've Got A Woman
    • Love Makes A Fool (Every Day)
    • Hey Joe
    • Love, Love, Love
    • Baby, Baby, Baby (What Am I Gonna Do)
    • This Old Heart Of Mine
    • Long Tall Sally
    • Memphis, Tennessee (feat. Cousin Bo-Jack)
    • Gonna Rock My Baby Tonight
    • Show Me (without sax)
    • Satisfied
    • When The Juke Box Plays (alt. Take)
    • Boo Bop Da Caa Caa
    • I Can't Quit
    • Let The Good Times Roll (feat. Cousin Bo-Jack)
    • Rockin' Daddy

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Pop/Rock

    Run Time: 70:00 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 03/08/24

    UPC: 4000127177261

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed