James Cotton - Rocks (CD)

Save 15%
SKU: BCD17651

$ 17.90 $ 20.99


-Bear Family Records® dedicates a CD album in the 'Rocks' series to James Cotton (1935-2017), one of the most dazzling personalities in the world of blues harmonica.
-27 recordings, made between 1953 and 1968, including four numbers from his very first recording session, nine tracks with the Muddy Waters Band, two songs from rare British EPs with Chris Barber and Alexis Korner, 12 recordings with Cotton as bandleader, including a Verve recording (first time on CD).
-Important, innovative musicians such as Pat Hare, Otis Spann, Willie Dixon, Paul Butterfield, J. T. Brown, Harvey Simmons and Otis Clay can be heard.
-The extensive booklet contains discographical information on each track, an exciting photo gallery and detailed notes by Martin Hawkins.

The harmonica as a lead instrument for rock and roll!
Yeah, sure, why not?
Especially when the mouth harp is wielded by James Cotton, the man who grew up with blues giants during the formative years of rock 'n' roll and went on to have one of the first R&B bands to play on the white rock festival circuit. Cotton - one of the most celebrated figures in the world of blues harmonica - was also a rock 'n' roll man. For that reason, this is one of the most significant discs in our 'Rocks' series.
Growing up in a world where rock heroes, and most blues heroes, were singers, guitar players, sometimes piano players, maybe sax men, Cotton said he modelled his harp playing on the saxophone parts in rhythm and blues and jazz. He was championed by rock bands as both an influence and a comrade in the electric blues-rock years. The 'Chicago Tribune' reviewed his harp playing as 'gritty, gutsy, ferociously uninhibited, and what great harp work is all about.'
This CD of superfine music shows where the blues came from and where R&B and rock 'n' roll took it. The tracks are full of invigorating harp riffs and solos but they also contain excellent vocal performances by James Cotton himself and by his one-time boss, Muddy Waters.

Track Listing

    • My Baby
    • Rocket 88
    • Hold Me In Your Arms
    • Don't Start Me To Talkin'
    • Feelin' Good
    • Straighten Up Baby
    • Cotton Crop Blues
    • She's Got It (Muddy Waters vcl)
    • Rock Me (All Night Long) (Muddy Waters vcl)
    • Rock Me Mama
    • You Don't Have To Go (Muddy Waters vcl)
    • Off The Wall
    • Short Dress Woman (Muddy Waters vcl)
    • Oh Why? (I Need You So Bad)
    • Take Your Hands Off Her
    • I Won't Go On (Muddy Waters vcl)
    • Jimmy's Jump
    • Meanest Woman (Muddy Waters vcl)
    • Lovin' Cup
    • Elevate Me Mama (Muddy Waters vcl)
    • Three Harp Boogie
    • I Feel So Good (Muddy Waters vcl)
    • Honest I Do
    • Love Me Or Leave Me
    • My Dog Can't Bark (Muddy Waters vcl)
    • Next Time You See Me
    • Cotton Crop Blues

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Blues

    Run Time: 75:00 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 07/05/24

    UPC: 4000127176516

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed