That'll Flat Git It! Vol. 47: Rockabilly & Rock 'n' Roll From The Vaults Of Starday Records (CD)

Save 15%
SKU: BCD17671

$ 17.90 $ 20.99


-The first of two CD albums in the 'That'll Flat Git It!' series on Bear Family Records®, dedicated to the legendary Starday label from Texas.
-From a straight country label, Starday quickly developed into a rockabilly pioneer with big names like George Jones and Sleepy LaBeef.
-The salt in the soup, however, is provided by the rather unknown, sometimes amateurish, often obscure young and energetic performers that Starday released in the Custom Series.
-Unadulterated Lone Star Rockabilly at its best!
-Detailed liner notes by Bill Dahl in the 36-page booklet, plus, as always in the Rockabilly series, selected pictures and illustrations as well as careful mastering from the best possible sources.

When Starday Records debuted in June of 1953 in Beaumont, Texas, owners Jack Starns, Jr. and Harold 'Pappy' Daily intended it to be a pure country label. Don Pierce came in as a co-owner a few months later, and the logo did well right out of the gate. Once Starns left and rockabilly came on strong during the mid-'50s, Starday attracted plenty of talent in that field too. The first of Bear Family's two volumes of Starday rockabilly offers 33 classic sides, some by the label's best-known rockers: Sonny Fisher, Link Davis, Sleepy LaBeff (as he spelled his name back then), Rudy 'Tutti' Grayzell and George Jones (his blistering How Come It, released as by Thumper Jones) among them. Starday often utilized the house band at Houston's Gold Star Recording for its rockabilly output, Hal Harris a mainstay on lead guitar. The most obscure inclusions on the compilation hail from Starday's Custom Series, where unknown artists out in the hinterlands could send in their homemade tapes and for a fee receive 300 copies of their amateur artistry on vinyl. That's how some of this disc's hottest and rarest rockers came over the transom, including gems by Buddy Shaw, Larry Nolen, Hal Payne, Arnold Parker and The Southernairs, and Lou Walker. Undiluted Lone Star rockabilly at its hottest!

Track Listing

    • Rocky Bill Ford - Have You Seen Mabel
    • Sonny Fisher - Sneaky Pete
    • Rudy 'Tutti' Grayzell - You're Gone
    • Sleepy LaBeef - I Ain't Gonna Take It
    • Amos Como & His Tune Toppers - Hole In The Wall
    • Buddy Shaw - Don't Sweep That Dirt On Me
    • Larry Nolen & His Bandits - King Of The Ducktail Cats
    • Glenn Barber - Ice Water
    • Thumper Jones - How Come It
    • Arnold Parker & The Southernaires - Find A New Woman
    • Eddie Skelton - My Heart Gets Lonely
    • Rock Rogers - That Ain't It
    • Hal Payne - Honky Tonk Stomp
    • Lou Walker - Rock And Roll (Tennessee Style)
    • Lucky Wray with Link & Doug Wray - Teenage Cutie
    • Bill Mack - It's Saturday Night
    • Bill Browning - Down In The Hollow
    • Slim Watts - Tu-La-Lou
    • Truitt Forse - Doggone Dame
    • Link Davis - Sixteen Chicks
    • Johnny Tyler - Lie To Me Baby
    • The Davis Twins and Sleepy Jeffers - My Blackbirds Are Bluebirds Now
    • Cousin Arnold & His Country Cousins - Sweet Talking Daddy
    • Jimmy Johnson - Woman Love
    • Sonny Fisher - Little Red Wagon
    • Link Davis - Don’t Big Shot Me
    • Rudy 'Tutti' Grayzell - Ducktail
    • Glenn Barber - Feeling No Pain
    • Lloyd McCollough - Half My Fault
    • Al Runyon - Baby Please Come Home
    • Bill Mack - Kitty Kat
    • Tommy Castle - Wanderlust
    • Sleepy LaBeef - I'm Through

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Pop/Rock

    Run Time: 79:00 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 08/09/24

    UPC: 4000127176714

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed