Lillian Briggs - Diddy Boppers: Juke Box Pearls (CD)

Save 38%
SKU: BCD17717

$ 11.69 $ 18.99


-With Lillian Briggs, the 'Juke Box Pearls' CD series on Bear Family Records® brings a brilliant but little-appreciated artist into the limelight.
-32 songs from 1955 to 1961, located somewhere between pop and rock'n'roll.
-Mostly up-tempo numbers plus magnificently arranged pop, rarities and hits - including Diddy Boppers and three different versions of the classic I Want You To Be My Baby and two rare, previously unreleased recordings by the Lillian Briggs Orchestra.
-The 36-page color booklet includes a biography written by renowned music journalist Bill Dahl and many rare photos and memorabilia!

This CD compilation of 32 songs occasionally deviates from the chronological order and describes the career of a unique singer who also played the trombone. Starting with instrumental recordings of the Lillian Briggs Orchestra from the mid-50s - after Alan Freed discovered her - through rhythm & blues sounds and rock 'n' roll in her recordings for the Epic label and various other record companies to pop arrangements, jazz standards and twists of the later years: 'Diddy Boppers' presents the great stylistic diversity of a unique female singer.

All of Lillian Briggs' hits are included, such as the CD title track Diddy Boppers. Perhaps many will remember I Want You To Be My Baby, which was recorded at the same time by Georgia Gibbs and is offered here in three different versions; as an instrumental version by the Lillian Briggs Orchestra, then in her best-known arrangement as a rhythm & blues heavy dance number and finally as a twist version from 1961. Her cover versions of Eddie My Love, Hey! Ba-Ba-Re-Bop, Rag Mop and the great Be Mine are also on this CD.
A rousing album, not just for nostalgic fans and collectors. If you love expressive female singers, Lillian Briggs is the right choice!
The CD comes with a 36-page color booklet with a Lillian Briggs biography by the renowned Chicago music journalist Bill Dahl, and many rare photos and illustrations!

Track Listing

    • I Want You To Be My Baby
    • Don't Stay Away Too Long
    • It Could've Been Me
    • Can't Stop
    • Rock'N'Roll-y Poly Santa Claus
    • I Want You To Be My Baby (Instrumental)
    • Delilah (Instrumental) (Acetate)
    • Follow The Leader
    • That's The Only Way To Live
    • Eddie, My Love
    • The Teens In Jeans From New Orleans
    • The Gypsy Goofed
    • I'll Be Gone
    • Mean Words
    • Sugar Blues
    • Boogie Blues
    • I
    • She Sells Seashells
    • Come Here
    • Will We Meet Again
    • Hey! Ba-Ba-Re-Bop
    • I've Got Your Heart
    • Rag Mop
    • Is There A Man In The House?
    • Blues In The Night
    • Diddy Boppers
    • Hooray For The Rock
    • Not A Soul (Blanket Roll Blues)
    • Be Mine (Alle Mädchen wollen küssen)
    • I Care For You
    • I'm Burning For You
    • I Want You To Be My Baby (1961 Version)

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Pop/Rock

    Run Time: 77:00 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 05/03/24

    UPC: 4000127177179

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed