Merle Haggard - The Troubadour (CD)

SKU: BCD17250

$ 112.49 $ 149.99


4-CD box set (LP-format) with 68-page hardcover book, 111 tracks, total playing time approx. 6 hrs 38 mns

Merle Haggard's overlooked and underappreciated MCA recordings capture the great country singer-songwriter reemerging from his mid-career crossroads. 111 tracks spanning from 1976 to 1981, covering eight LPs plus the 'lost' album later sold to CBS. Four unissued songs, including the recently discovered original recording of Troubadour. Three songs never on album, including The Bull And The Beaver, his #8 country duet with Leona Williams. Both hit singles from the 'Bronco Billy' soundtrack, including Misery And Gin and Merle Haggard's chart-topping duet with Clint Eastwood, Bar Room Buddies. Lavish 68-page hardcover book with rare photos and an extensive essay covering Merle Haggard's MCA years.

His celebrated, career-defining 11-year run with Capitol Records behind him, Merle Haggard was in a creative lull and pondering retirement when he signed with MCA. But after taking a six-month hiatus from performing, a refreshed and newly confident Merle Haggard triumphantly returned to the footlights and the recording studios. His singing voice now mellowed into a comfortable baritone, and his newly retooled lineup of the Strangers could effortlessly shift from country to swing to down-home blues without hesitation. More importantly, an inspired Haggard began writing great songs again.

This 4-CD collection gathers every existing master that Haggard recorded for MCA Records between 1976 and 1981. Among the highlights: My Farewell To Elvis, Merle Haggard's heartfelt tribute to his musical contemporary Elvis Presley. 'Serving 190 Proof,' the critically acclaimed, semi-autobiographical 1979 album that signaled Haggard's future musical direction. 'Back To The Barrooms,' the 1980 Jimmy Bowen-produced classic that yielded Haggard's chart-topping single I Think I'll Just Stay Here And Drink and Leonard, his homage to a troubled friend,...Read more at:

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • The Troubadour
  • I Think It's Gone Forever
  • If We're Not Back In Love By Monday (unissued
  • Ramblin' Fever
  • When My Blue Moon Turns To Gold Again
  • Ghost Story
  • Set Me Free
  • Love Somebody To Death
  • Ain't Your Memory Got No Pride At All
  • My Love For You
  • The Last Letter
  • From Graceland To Promised Land
  • Blue Christmas
  • Are You Lonesome Tonight
  • In The Ghetto
  • Don't Be Cruel
  • Jailhouse Rock
  • Love Me Tender
  • That's All Right (Mama)
  • Heartbreak Hotel
  • Blue Suede Shoes
  • Merle's Farewell To Elvis
  • I'm Always On A Mountain When I Fall
  • Life Of A Rodeo Cowboy
  • It's Been A Great Afternoon
  • Love Me When You Can
  • There Won't Be Another Now
  • Don't You Ever Get Tired (Of Hurting Me)
  • There Ain't No Good Chain Gang
  • The Dream
  • The Immigrant
  • Mama I've Got To Go To Memphis
Disc 2:
  • The Bull And The Beaver
  • I'm Getting' High
  • Red Bandana
  • Driftwood
  • Sing A Family Song
  • Footlights
  • Got Lonely Too Early This Morning
  • Heaven Was A Drink Of Wine
  • I Can't Get Away
  • My Own Kind Of Hat
  • I Didn't Mean To Love You
  • Roses In The Winter
  • I Must Done Something Bad
  • The Way I Am
  • Wake Up
  • Sky-Bo
  • No One To Sing For (But The Band)
  • Remember Me (I'm The One Who Loves You)
  • Life's Just Not The Way It Used To Be
  • Where Have You Been
  • Take Me Back And Try Me One More Time
  • I'll Always Be Glad To Take You Back
  • It Makes No Difference Now
  • It's Been So Long Darlin'
  • Misery And Gin (from the original soundtrack
  • Barroom Buddies
  • You Babe
Disc 3:
  • My Life's Been Grand
  • Tell Me Something Bad About Tulsa
  • Love Keeps Hanging On
  • All In The Game
  • Why Can't I Cry
  • Bleachers
  • Love Don't Hurt Everything
  • Susie
  • Pennies From Heaven
  • Make-Up And Faded Blue Jeans
  • Ever Changing Woman
  • Help Save The Wild Life
  • Leonard
  • I Don't Want To Sober Up Tonight
  • Dealing With The Devil
  • Can't Break The Habit
  • Lay Your Hands On My Heart
  • Back To The Barrooms Again
  • Our Paths May Never Cross
  • (I Don't Have) Any More Love Songs
  • I Think I'll Just Stay Here And Drink
  • I Don't Want To Sober Up Tonight (outtake)
  • New Cocaine Blues
  • Easy Come, Easy Go
  • Easy Come, Easy Go (alt)
Disc 4:
  • When God Comes And Gather His Jewels
  • Suppertime
  • He Walks With Me
  • Softly And Tenderly
  • Why Me
  • Where No One Stands Alone
  • One Day At A Time
  • What A Friend We Have In Jesus
  • Swing Low Sweet Chariot
  • The Old Rugged Cross
  • Keep On The Sunny Side
  • The Fightin' Side Of Me
  • If We Make It Through December
  • Misery And Gin (live)
  • I Think I'll Just Stay Here And Drink (live)
  • Back To The Barrooms Again (live)
  • Our Paths May Never Cross (live)
  • Medley: The Running Kind / I'm A Lonesome Fug
  • Rainbow Stew (live)
  • Blue Yodel 9 (live)
  • Dealing With The Devil (live)
  • Fiddle Breakdown (live)
  • Sing Me Back Home (live)
  • Pearl Beer
  • The Man In The Mask
  • The Legends Begins
  • The Breaking Of Silver

Additional Details

Label: Bear Family Records

Genre: Country

Run Time: 398 mins

Release Date: 09/21/12

UPC: 4000127172501

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed