Roy Brown - Rocks (CD)

Save 38%
SKU: BCD17749

$ 12.92 $ 20.99


-Roy Brown, one of the all-time greats of early rhythm 'n' blues and jointly responsible for the breakthrough success of R'n'R - ROCKS!
-His Good Rocking Tonight from 1948 is regarded as an epitome of early rocking R&B and constitutes a cornerstone of R'n'R!
-Carefully mastered and accompanied by a detailed biography of Bill Dahl in the illustrated 36-page booklet, this CD fits seamlessly into the series of great rockers in our ROCKS series!

Few figures in the history of postwar rhythm and blues played a larger role in the development of rock and roll than Roy Brown, even if he wasn't able to cash in on his innovations. Brown's Good Rocking Tonight was a clarion call to a tremendously exciting future when it broke through in 1948, even though Wynonie Harris' cover stole away much of its chart thunder. Bear Family's 30-track 'Roy Brown Rocks' pays loving tribute to this R&B pioneer, tracing the mighty blues shouter from his earliest days on the Braun brothers' DeLuxe label, where he scored his biggest hits from 1948 through '51, through his sizzling 1952-55 sides for Syd Nathan's King Records and then his brief 1956-58 career rebirth at Imperial Records, when New Orleans A&R man Dave Bartholomew updated the Louisiana native's sound and got him back on the charts. 1960's Rocking All The Time for Ruben Cherry's Home of The Blues label in Memphis summarizes Roy's entire career; his DeLuxe sides Rockin' At Midnight, Boogie At Midnight, and the incredibly graphic two-part Butcher Pete and the scalding King label jumps Hurry Hurry Baby, Gal From Kokomo, and Ain't No Rocking No More spotlight an incredible singer boasting a sky-high church-trained tenor who rewrote all the rules behind the mic when it came to R&B vocalists, backed by a band he aptly christened The Mighty-Mighty Men. What's more, his 1957 hit rendition of Let The Four Winds Blow stands as definitive. As long as we have Roy Brown's priceless recordings to remember him by, the good rocking need never stop.

Track Listing

    • Saturday Night
    • Butcher Pete -part I
    • Rocking All The Time
    • I've Got The Last Laugh Now
    • I'm Ready To Play
    • Good Rockin' Man
    • Train Time Blues
    • Good Rockin' Tonight
    • Gal From Kokomo
    • Mr. Hound Dog's In Town
    • Riding High
    • Rockin' At Midnight
    • Let The Four Winds Blow
    • Good Man Blues
    • Cadillac Baby
    • Hip Shakin' Baby
    • Hurry Hurry Baby (alt. Version)
    • Rock-A-Bye Baby
    • Shake 'em Up Baby
    • Love Don't Love Nobody
    • Boogie At Midnight
    • Black Diamond
    • We're Goin' Rockin' Tonight
    • Bar Room Blues
    • Ain't Gonna Do It
    • Beautician Blues
    • New Rebecca
    • Letter From Home
    • Butcher Pete -part II
    • Ain't No Rockin' No More

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: R & B

    Run Time: 79:00 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 05/03/24

    UPC: 4000127177490

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed