Waylon Jennings - The Journey: Six Strings Away (CD)

Save 38%
SKU: BCD16370

$ 123.08 $ 199.99
Only 1 unit left


6-CD box (LP-size) with 60-page hardcover book, 147 tracks. Playing time approx. 417 mns

The second volume of Bear Family's chronicle of Waylon Jennings' pre-Outlaw recordings begins in June 1968, taking the story to the end of 1972. Here Waylon Jennings develops some of the pivotal personal and musical relationships of his life, with Shel Silverstein, Billy Joe Shaver, Bobby Bare, and of course with his wife, Jessi Colter. The pace of hits was picking up.

Waylon Jennings hit the charts with songs he would feature throughout his career such as MacArthur Park, The Taker, Good Hearted Woman, Pretend I Never Happened, as well as his own Lonesome On'ry And Mean. This set also features complete early albums, including 'Jewels,' 'Just To Satisfy You,' 'The Taker/Tulsa,' 'Singer Of Sad Songs,' 'Cedartown, Georgia,' 'Good Hearted Woman,' and 'Ladies Love Outlaws.'

The 60-page hardcover-book includes an essay from Waylon Jennings' official biographer, Lenny Kaye. ''Waylon was beginning to see that it wasn't just an individual producer that stood between him and his musical realization,'' Lenny Kaye writes. ''Rather, the weight of Nashville tradition was wedged like a stone in his particular passway. You either had to climb over the barricade or blow it up. '' Here, Waylon Jennings begins to do both.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Folsom Prison Blues
  • Today I Started Loving You Again
  • If You Were Mine To Lose
  • Six Strings Away
  • Cedartown Georgia
  • I Lost Me
  • Brown Eyed Handsome Man
  • Alone
  • Something's Wrong In California
  • The Days Of Sand And Shovels
  • Just To Satisfy You
  • For The Kids
  • Farewell Party
  • Sing The Blues To Daddy (& BOBBY BARE)
  • Change My Mind
  • Lonely Weekends
  • A World Of Our Own
  • Come Stay With Me
  • MacArthur Park
  • Long Way Back Home
  • These New Changing Times
  • Cindy, Oh Cindy
  • Mary Ann Regrets
  • But You Know I Love You
  • Drivin' Nails In The Wall
  • Let Me Tell You My Mind
  • Games People Play
Disc 2:
  • Don't Play The Game
  • The House Song
  • Delia's Gone
  • It's All Over Now
  • The Thirty Third Of August
  • I'm Gonna Leave (While I Still Love You)
  • Grey Eyes You Know
  • I May Never Pass This Way Again
  • (I'd Be) A Legend In My Time
  • Lila
  • Willie And Laura Mae Jones
  • I Ain't The One (& JESSI COLTER)
  • Singer Of Sad Songs
  • Let Me Stay Awhile
  • Sunday Mornin' Comin' Down
  • It's Sure Been Fun
  • Where Love Has Died
  • Yellow Haired Woman
  • This Time Tomorrow (I'll Be Gone)
  • Life Goes On
  • People In Dallas Got Hair
  • Six White Horses
  • Pickin' White Gold
  • Donna On My Mind
  • Honky Tonk Woman
  • Time Between Bottles Of Wine
  • Ragged But Right
  • If I Were A Carpenter
  • Must You Throw Dirt In My Face
Disc 3:
  • She Comes Running
  • No Regrets
  • Rock, Salt And Nails
  • Sick And Tired
  • It Ain't Easy
  • Woman You Need A Man
  • Marriage On The Rocks
  • To Beat The Devil
  • Mississippi Woman
  • Ned Kelly
  • Shadow Of The Gallows
  • Lonigan's Widow
  • Ranchin' In The Evening
  • Blame It On The Kellys
  • Pleasure Of A Sunday Afternoon
  • Big D
  • Gone To Denver
  • The Taker
  • Bridge Over Troubled Water (& JESSI COLTER)
  • What About You
  • Thanks
  • You'll Look For Me
  • Tomorrow Night In Baltimore
  • One Of My Bad Habits
  • Suspicious Minds (& JESSI COLTER)
  • Sweetheart (& JESSI COLTER)
  • I Knew You'd Be Leavin'
  • (Don't Let The Sun Set On You) Tulsa
Disc 4:
  • Lovin' Her Was Easier
  • Mobile Blues
  • Mama I'll Sing One Song For You
  • Casey's Last Ride
  • Love In The Afternoon
  • I've Got Eyes For You
  • Under Your Spell Again (& JESSI COLTER)
  • Atlanta's Burning Down
  • The Ghost Of General Lee
  • Some Kind Of Fool
  • I Think It's Time She Learned
  • The Same Old Lover Man
  • Low Down Freedom
  • Unsatisfied
  • It Should Be Easier Now
  • Crazy Arms
  • Do No Good Woman
  • Sweet Dream Woman
  • Good Hearted Woman
  • Revelation
  • Big, Big Love
  • Ladies Love Outlaws
  • Sure Didn't Take Him Long
  • Nothin' Worth Takin' Or Leavin'
  • Lay It Down
  • Sandy Sends Her Best
  • The Last Letter
Disc 5:
  • Come Early Mornin'
  • You Can Have Her
  • My God And I
  • Frisco Depot (San Francisco Depot)
  • Me And Bobby McGee
  • Black Rose
  • Pretend I Never Happened
  • Delta Dawn
  • Never Been To Spain
  • Laid Back Country Picker
  • Good Time Charlie's Got The Blues
  • Willy, The Wandering Gypsy
  • San Francisco Mabel Joy
  • Lonesome, On'ry And Mean
  • Freedom To Stay
  • Lisa's Only Seven
  • The Last One To Leave Seattle
  • About That Woman
  • Poor Old Ugly Gladys Jones
  • Chet's Tune
Disc 6:
  • I'm A Long Way From Home (guitar version)
  • What Makes A Man Wander
  • John's Back In Town
  • Shadows Of The Gallows

Additional Details

Label: Bear Family Records

Genre: Pop/Rock

Run Time: 417 mins

Release Date: 01/02/07

UPC: 4000127163707

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed