Wynn Stewart - Gonna Shake This Shack Tonight: Come On (CD)

SKU: BCD17252

$ 16.20 $ 18.99


1-CD-Album DigiPac (4-plated) with 44-page booklet, 32 tracks. Playing time approx. 73 mns

The first compilation of Wynn Stewart's rock 'n' roll, country boogie and honky tonk classics. 31 in all! Featuring the ultra-rare fast version of Come On, previously only issued on our 10-CD box set. Eddie Cochran plays guitar on Slowly But Surely! Bonus rock 'n' roll song by his stage partner, Jackie Burns! Includes Another Day, Another Dollar, recently used in a Volkswagen commercial!

Wynn Stewart is generally hailed as one of the greatest pure singers in the history of country music, as well as one of the architects of the classic Bakersfield Sound. Those who regard Wynn as among the best and most influential vocalists in country music include Buck Owens, Harlan Howard (who wrote many of Wynn's greatest hits) Merle Haggard (who began his career in Wynn's band) and Dwight Yoakam. This compilation includes his up-tempo recordings for Intro, Capitol, Jackpot, and Challenge, all of them nearly impossible to find.

Wynn Stewart was a West Coast legend in the '50s and '60s, but few remember him these days. He died before his classic Bakersfield sound became a cornerstone of current alternative country. He never lived to hear Dwight Yoakam praise him as a greater originator and never heard his songs in commercials and movies. We at Bear Family started to rectify the situation with our career-spanning 10-CD set. If that's too much of a commitment, try this single CD of Wynn's up-tempo songs. Rockabilly, country boogie, and super-fine rock 'n' roll.

Track Listing

    • Come On (alt)
    • After All
    • It's Not The Moon That Makes The Difference
    • Slowly But Surely
    • That Just Kills Me
    • Why Do I Love You So
    • I Wish I Could Say The Same
    • She Just Tears Me Up
    • School Bus Love Affair (alt)
    • Donna On My Mind
    • I Keep Forgettin' That I Forgot About You
    • We'll Never Love Again
    • I Done Done It
    • Rain, Rain
    • Big, Big Love
    • Playboy (alt)
    • Hold Back Tomorrow
    • Wrong Company
    • Three Cheers For The Loser
    • Wishful Thinking
    • You're That Someone Else
    • Heartaches For A Dime
    • Man, Man, Mr. Sandman
    • Slightly Used
    • Open Up My Heart (basic track)
    • Wall To Wall Heartaches
    • Another Day, Another Dollar
    • Take It Or Leave It
    • Uncle Tom Got Caught
    • Don't Spook Me
    • Come On (master)
    • Wild One (Jackie Burns)

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Country

    Run Time: 73 mins

    Release Date: 11/15/11

    UPC: 4000127172525

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed