Spreading The Word: Early Gospel Recordings (CD)

Save 15%
SKU: JSP77214

$ 25.50 $ 29.99
In stock (11 units), ready to be shipped



This is a superbly remastered and presented 4 CD set of the earliest, deepest and most soulful Gospel recordings. There is an intensity about all these recordings that illustrates a profound faith and belief but also is a 'cry of pain' of people struggling for dignity and rights which were being denied them. These are seminal early Gospel from some of the great legends-essential music!

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Arizona Dranes - In That Day
  • Arizona Dranes - It's All Right Now
  • Arizona Dranes - John Said He Saw A Number
  • Arizona Dranes - My Soul Is A Witness For The Lord
  • Arizona Dranes - Crucifixion
  • Arizona Dranes - Sweet Heaven Is My Home
  • Arizona Dranes - Bye And Bye We're Going To See The King
  • Arizona Dranes - I'm Going Home On The Morning Train
  • Arizona Dranes - Lambs Blood Has Washed Me Clean
  • Arizona Dranes - I'm Glad My Lord Saved Me With
  • Arizona Dranes - I Shall Wear A Crown
  • Arizona Dranes - God's Got A Crown
  • Arizona Dranes - He Is My Story
  • Arizona Dranes - Just Look
  • Arizona Dranes - I'll Go Where You Want Me To Go
  • Arizona Dranes - Don't You Want To Go'
  • Sister Mary M. Nelson - The Royal Telephone
  • Sister Mary M. Nelson - Judgement
  • Sister Mary M. Nelson - The Seal Of God
  • Sister Mary M. Nelson - Isaiah
  • Holy Ghost Sanctified Singers - Thou Carest Lord For Me
  • Holy Ghost Sanctified Singers - Jesus Throwed Up A Highway For Me
  • Holy Ghost Sanctified Singers - Sinner, l'd Make A Change
  • Holy Ghost Sanctified Singers - When I Get Inside The Gate
  • Louisville Sanctified Singers - God Give Me A Light
  • Louisville Sanctified Singers - So Glad I'm Here
Disc 2:
  • Washington Phillips - Mother's Last Words To Her Son
  • Washington Phillips - Take Your Burden To The Lord And Leave It There
  • Washington Phillips - Paul And Silas In Jail
  • Washington Phillips - Lift Him Up That's All
  • Washington Phillips - Denomination Blues: One
  • Washington Phillips - Denomination Blues: Two
  • Washington Phillips - I Am Born To Preach The Gospel
  • Washington Phillips - Train Your Child
  • Washington Phillips - Jesus Is My Friend
  • Washington Phillips - What Are They Doing In Heaven Today'
  • Washington Phillips - A Mother's Last Words To Her Daughter
  • Washington Phillips - I've Got The Key To The Kingdom
  • Washington Phillips - You Can't Stop A Tattler: 1
  • Washington Phillips - You Can't Stop A Tattler: 2
  • Washington Phillips - I Had A Good Father And Mother
  • Washington Phillips - The Church Need Good Deacons
  • Bessie Johnson - No Room At The Hotel
  • Bessie Johnson - Key To The Kingdom
  • Bessie Johnson - One Day
  • Bessie Johnson - The Whole World In His Hand
  • Bessie Johnson - The Great Reaping Day
  • Bessie Johnson - He Got Better Things For You
  • Bro. Williams Memphis Sanctified Singers - He's Got The Whole World In His Hands
  • Bro. Williams Memphis Sanctified Singers - I Will Meet You At The Station
  • Texas Jubilee Singers - He's The Lily Of The Valley
  • Texas Jubilee Singers - He's Coming Soon
Disc 3:
  • Elder Richard Bryant - The Master Came And Called Me
  • Elder Richard Bryant - Saul, A Wicked Man
  • Elder Richard Bryant - Come Over Here
  • Elder Richard Bryant - How Much I Owe For Love Divine
  • Elder Richard Bryant - Lord, Lord, He Sure Is Good To Me
  • Elder Richard Bryant - Watch Ye Therefore,You Know Not The Day
  • Elder Richard Bryant - A Lie Was Told But God Know'd It
  • Elder Richard Bryant - A Wild Man In Town
  • Elder Richard Bryant - He Shut The Lion's Mouth
  • Elder Richard Bryant - Everybody Was There
  • Luther Magby - Blessed Are The Poor In Spirit
  • Luther Magby - Jesus Is Getting Us Ready For The Great Day
  • Rev. Johnny Blakey - King Of Kings
  • Rev. Johnny Blakey - Jesus Was Here On Business
  • Rev. Johnny Blakey - Warming By The Devil's Fire
  • Rev. Johnny Blakey - The Devil Is Loose In The World
  • Southern Sanctified Singers - Soon We'll Gather At The River
  • Southern Sanctified Singers - Where He Leads Me I Will Follow
  • Prof. Johnson & His Gospel Singers - Where Shall I Be
  • Prof. Johnson & His Gospel Singers - Give Me That Old Time Religion
  • Prof. Johnson & His Gospel Singers - Angels
  • Prof. Johnson & His Gospel Singers - Standing In The Safety Zone
  • Sister Lottie Peavy - When I Move To The Sky
  • Sister Lottie Peavy - Nobody's Fault But Mine
  • Rev. E.S. 'Shy' Moore - Christ, The Teacher
  • Rev. E.S. 'Shy' Moore - The Solemn Warning
Disc 4:
  • McIntorsh & Edwards - What Kind Of Man Jesus Is
  • McIntorsh & Edwards - Since I Laid My Burden Down
  • McIntorsh & Edwards - The 1927 Flood
  • McIntorsh & Edwards - The Latter Rain Is Fall
  • McIntorsh & Edwards - Take A Stand
  • McIntorsh & Edwards - Behold! A King Shall Rise
  • Jessie May Hill - Earth Is No Resting Place
  • Jessie May Hill - The Crucifixion Of Christ
  • Jessie May Hill - God Rode In The Windstorm
  • Jessie May Hill - Untitled
  • Jessie May Hill - This World Is Not My Home
  • Jessie May Hill - Sunshine In The Shadows
  • Jessie May Hill - I'm Going To Lift Up A Standard For My King
  • Goldia Haynes - Traveling
  • Goldia Haynes - The Great Judgement Day
  • Goldia Haynes - Oh Lord, How Long'
  • Goldia Haynes - There's A Hand Leading Me
  • Goldia Haynes - I'm Going To Hold On
  • Goldia Haynes - The Truth In The Gospel
  • Laura Henton - He's Coming Soon
  • Laura Henton - Heavenly Sunshine
  • Laura Henton - .Lord, You've Sure Been Good To Me
  • Laura Henton - I Can Tell The World About This
  • Laura Henton - Plenty Good Room In My Father's Kingdom
  • Laura Henton - Lord, I Just Can't Keep From Crying Sometimes
  • Rev. Joe Lenley - Let Us Therefore Come
  • Rev. Joe Lenley - Lord Who Shall Abide In Thy Tabernacle

Additional Details

Label: JSP Records

Genre: Gospel

Language: English

Run Time: 240 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 06/21/19

UPC: 788065721428

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed