Pearl Harbour - Don't Follow Me, I'm Lost Too [Expanded] (Purple Grape Vinyl) (LP)

Save 15%
SKU: LIB-5169

$ 23 $ 26.99
In stock (99 units), ready to be shipped


Expanded re-issue of lost 1980 album with four bonus tracks pressed on purple vinyl. Features members of The Clash, Dr. Feelgood and many other guests

Patricia Gilbert began her career in San Francisco's burgeoning music scene in the 1970s, dancing on stage with the Tubes in 1976 before becoming part of another local act, Leila and the Snakes. In 1978, she adopted the stage name 'Pearl Harbor' and formed Pearl Harbor and the Explosions alongside two of the Snakes. They recorded a well-received, self-titled debut album for WB and toured extensively. When it came time to record a second LP, the band split due to disagreements over musical direction. At the time, Pearl was dating Clash associate and sometime manager Kosmo Vinyl, and the couple relocated to London. Pearl decided she wanted to go in a rockabilly direction for Don't Follow Me, I'm Lost Too, and Kosmo went about assembling an all-star studio band which included Paul Simonon, Topper Headon, and Mick Jones from the Clash; Wilko Johnson from Dr. Feelgood and Ian Dury & the Blockheads; Nigel Dixon from Whirlwind; Steve New from the Rich Kids; and Steve Goulding from Graham Parker & the Rumour. Produced by Blockheads keyboardist Mickey Gallagher, the LP also features contributions from pedal steel guitarist BJ Cole, keyboardist Geraint Watkins, and saxophonist Gary Barnacle. The album was released in December 1980. Despite being a crackling blend of rockabilly, country, rock 'n' roll, and Pearl's own unique star quality WB failed to get behind the album. Within the year, she was touring as a special guest with the Clash. She married Simonon and the union lasted for seven years. This new expanded edition of Don't Follow Me, I'm Lost Too includes four bonus tracks on purple grape vinyl and six on the CD. Both formats feature new liner notes from Pearl alongside photos and memorabilia from her personal collection. In addition to 'Fujiyama Mama,' all formats include Pearl's interpretations of Billy Cox and Cliff Hobbs' 'Filipino Baby,' Ian Dury's 'Rough Kids,' and LaVern Baker's 'Voodoo Voodoo.'

Track Listing

    • Alone In the Dark
    • Fujiyama Mama
    • Everybody's Boring But My Baby
    • You're In Trouble Again
    • Do Your Homework
    • Cowboys & Indians
    • Losing To You
    • Filipino Baby
    • Let's Go Upstairs
    • Rough Kids
    • Out With the Girls
    • Heaven Is Gonna Be Empty
    • At the Dentist
    • Nerves (B side)
    • You Got Me All Wrong (B side)
    • Voodoo Voodoo (UK single)
    • You Don't Fool Me (UK B side)

    Additional Details

    Label: Liberation Hall

    Genre: Pop/Rock

    Run Time: 42:52 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 03/22/24

    UPC: 089353516925

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed