Tom Grant & Phil Baker - Blue Sapphire (CD)

Save 15%
SKU: NWRI55514

$ 13.60 $ 15.99


Fifteen original songs by one of the pioneers of smooth jazz in collaboration with a world class songwriter and bassist

Here is a musical collaboration between Pianist Tom Grant and Bassist Phil Baker. The album showcases the stunning excellence of these 2 celebrated artists.

Blue Sapphire is a collection of songs written by Grant and Baker. The
15 original tracks trace an alluring path from smooth jazz to bossa
nova, to R&B funk, with ambient passages along the way.
Drawing upon their deep history in the industry, Grant and Baker
assembled an all-star lineup of the best musicians in the Northwest
including Nu-Shooz' lead singer Valerie Day, R&B/pop singer Jarrod
Lawson, and Jazz Grammy finalist Randy Porter to record on the

Tom Grant is an award-winning pianist and one of the original smooth jazz pioneers. His songwriting has earned him national acclaim, including chart-topping albums in the 80s & 90s. His latest title, ''Sipping Beauty,'' was named record of the year in 2017 in the New Age Chill-Groove category. His decades-long career includes years of touring with jazz giants like Tony Williams, Joe Henderson, Woody Shaw, and Charles Lloyd.

If you liked Tom's earlier hits such as ''In My Wildest Dreams,'' ''Mango Tango,''
and ''The View From Here,'' you'll love Blue Sapphire.

Internationally renowned bassist Phil Baker is one of the most
respected musicians on the west coast, adept at upright and electric
basses, as well as guitar and keyboards. As bass player for Pink
Martini for the last 16 years, he's appeared with some of the
most acclaimed symphony orchestras in North America. Baker toured for
10 years with Diana Ross and has played with Gino Vanelli, jazz legends Eddie Harris, Ernie Watts,Diane Schuur, Mose Allison, among a host of other revered musicians.



Track Listing

    • Sugar Lips
    • Calcutta
    • Casino
    • Blue Sapphire
    • Cartahena
    • Little Things
    • A Thousand Yesterdays
    • Malibu Morning
    • Your Look Says It All
    • Dive Bar
    • Without Words
    • Ecstatic Dancer
    • Sanctuary
    • Mysterious Smile
    • Clouds Over Dublin

    Additional Details

    Label: Nu Wrinkle Records

    Genre: Jazz

    Language: English

    Run Time: 61:33 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 09/13/19

    UPC: 015882075367

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed