Daniel Kobialka - Porgy And Bess: Rendered By Daniel Kobialka (CD)


$ 11.10 $ 12.99


This recording of 15 songs from Porgy & Bess casts new light on the timeless melodies in fresh and inventive ways

PORGY AND BESS rendered by Daniel Kobialka
While there is a great deal of history to Porgy and Bess, the music on this wonderful new recording of 15 songs from this folk opera casts new light on the timeless melodies in fresh and inventive ways. Each of the songs is performed in the same order in which it appears in the opera and features Daniel Kobialka, a classically trained violinist whose catalog includes Jazz, New Age, Spacial, and Classical albums.
Kobialka's musical achievements include holding the position of Principal Second Violinist with the San Francisco Symphony orchestra during 1975-2008, performing with the Boston Symphony and the Atlanta Symphony, playing at the 1998 Winter Olympics in Japan, and serving as Concert Master for Leonard Bernstein's MASS at the opening of the Kennedy Center in Washington DC. He has also performed at a countless number of concerts all over the world. While he is a superb classical violinist it has been his passion for some time to produce his own musical interpretations of these Gershwin melodies.
The arrangement of this album, produced by James Scott Balentine, has provided Kobialka an opportunity to help revive the violin as an authentic voice of the blues. In turn, it provides Balentine with an opportunity to make these very familiar pieces sound new and mysterious.
Recorded in Kobialka's studio, the album also includes James Scott Balentine, on Saxophone and Clarinet, Martha Conwell Long, Flute and Bass Flute, Jennifer Berg, English Horn, Mason Macias, Percussion, and the Koblsai Soundings Ensemble.
The album's liner notes by Scott Yanow, author of ten books including The Jazz Singers, Swing, Jazz On Film and Jazz on Record 1917-76, set the stage for the album with an historical summary of the opera and descriptions of the moody and atmospheric arrangements that blend classical music with bits of jazz.

Track Listing

    • Jasbo Brown Blues
    • Summertime
    • A Woman is a Sometime Thing
    • My Man's Gone Now
    • It Take A Long Pull To Get There
    • I Got Plenty O' Nuttin'
    • Bess, You Is My Woman Now
    • It Ain't Necessarily So
    • What You Want Wid Bess
    • Oh, Doctor Jesus
    • I Loves You, Porgy
    • There's a Boat That's Leaving Soon for New York
    • A Red Headed Woman
    • Oh Bess, Oh Where's My Bess'
    • Oh Lawd, I'm On My Way

    Additional Details

    Label: LiSem Enterprises.Inc

    Genre: Blues

    Language: English

    Run Time: 60:00 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 08/04/17

    UPC: 753221791225

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed