Hylo Brown & The Timberliners - 1954-1960 (CD)

SKU: BCD15572

$ 22.49 $ 29.99


2-CD with 16-page booklet, 46 tracks. Playing time approx. 115 mns.

Very few bluegrass stars had a spot on a major label roster after 1955. Hylo Brown was one of the exceptions. He was on Capitol from 1954 to 1960, and showed how bluegrass could change with the times without losing its essence.

This double CD set features all 46 of Hylo's Capitol sides, 12 of them previously unissued. Here are bluegrass classics like 'Lost To A Stranger', 'In The Clay Beneath The Tomb', 'The Prisoner's Song', 'Flower Blooming In The Willdwood', 'Why Do You Weep Dear Willow' and 'Test Of Love'. Backing musicians include Red Rector, Norman Blake, Tater Tate, and Jackie Phelps. The star of these recordings though is Hylo himself, and now we have his greatest recordings back in print after so many years.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Put My Little Shoes Away
  • Blue Eyed Darling
  • Will The Angels Play Their Harps For Me
  • The Old Home Town
  • Love And Wealth
  • I'll Be All Smiles Tonight
  • Gathering Flowers From The Hillside
  • Little Joe
  • Darling Nellie Across The Sea
  • When It's Lamp Lightin' Time In The Valley
  • Why Do You Weep Dear Willow
  • Test Of Love
  • Dark As A Dungeon
  • Lost To A Stranger
  • Sweethearts Or Strangers
  • In The Clay Beneath The Tomb
  • The Wrong Kind Of Life
  • I'll Be Broken Hearted
  • Let's Stop Fooling Our Hearts
Disc 2:
  • Lovesick And Sorrow
  • Get Lost, You Wolf!
  • A One Sided Love Affair
  • The Only One
  • The Prisoner's Song
  • Nobody's Darlin' But Mine
  • One Way Train
  • Foolish Pride
  • John Henry
  • There's More Pretty Girls Than One
  • Stone Wall
  • The Shuffle Of My Feet
  • Your Crazy Heart
  • You Can't Relive The Past
  • I've Waited As Long As I Can
  • It's All Over Now
  • Thunder Clouds Of Love
  • Just Any Old Love
  • Darlin' How Can You Forget So Soon
  • Sweethearts Or Strangers (& THE JORDENAIRES)
  • Test Of Love (& THE JORDANAIRES)
  • Dark As A Dungeon (& THE JORDANAIRES)

Additional Details

Label: Bear Family Records

Genre: Bluegrass

Run Time: 115 mins

Release Date: 01/02/07

UPC: 4000127155726

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed