1961 British Hit Parade Part 2: April-September (CD)


$ 24.99


Fantastic value 4-CD set. One of three sets.

Acrobat Music's series of British Hit Parade collections has become an essential annual purchase for a significant number of collectors and enthusiasts who wish to hear and own every record that entered the British record charts during each year.
As the collections move into the '60s, the steady but inexorable shift in the balance of the music styles represented in the charts continues. As with 1960, when the New Musical Express and Record Retailer charts were extended to a Top 50, and including all the records which only charted in Melody Maker, Disc or Record Mirror, the number of titles in the complete anthology is well over 300, in this case 327, to be exact, meaning that the collection comprises 12 CDs, once again released by Acrobat as three 4-CD box sets, our well-established format for these releases..
Part Two includes the original versions of every record that entered the charts mentioned between 28th April and 7th September (one 7th September entry starts Part 3) in chronological order of chart entry, with nearly four hours of eclectic and fascinating entertainment.
The charts of 1961 saw several important new names making their debut alongside the big names of rock 'n' roll who had managed to achieve commercial longevity which the Tin Pan Alley pundits said they would never do. There were still the inevitable lightweight novelty hits, and a strong showing from the trad jazz fraternity, while the popularity of instrumental hits of all kinds continued. Some excellent soul-flavoured American hits made their impact this year, while many 50s-era crooners maintained a solid chart presence. With the extended chart, there are also a healthy helping of obscure and collectable one-hit wonders. It was certainly a year that the musicologists would have fun analysing, but there was no hint yet of the musical storm that was brewing in Liverpool and Hamburg.
We would point out once again that another company has made an opportunist attempt to mimic our series - we like to think that Acrobat's are the 'official' version, and we offer the only complete, comprehensive, coherent annual series. We thank our customers for supporting our British Hit Parade releases, and are sure this will one will prove as popular as the rest.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Geoff Love - Coronation Street
  • Clarence 'Frogman' Henry - But I Do
  • Jerry Lee Lewis - What'd I Say
  • Dick Charlesworth and his City Gents - Billy Boy
  • Bert Weedon - Mr. Guitar
  • Bob Luman - The Great Snowman
  • The Blackwells - Love Or Money
  • Billy Fury - Halfway To Paradise
  • The Shadows - Frightened City
  • Shirley Bassey - You'll Never Know
  • Lonnie Donegan - Have A Drink On me
  • Kenny Ball and his Jazzmen - I Still Love You All
  • Ernie K. Doe - Mother-in-law
  • The Ventures - Lullaby Of The Leaves
  • The Velvets - That Lucky Old Sun
  • Frankie Laine - Gunslinger
  • Linda Scott - I've Told Every Little Star
  • Neil Sedaka - Little Devil
  • Matt Monro - Why Not Now
  • Matt Monro - Can This Be Love
  • Emile Ford & the Checkmates - Half Of My Heart
  • The Allisons - Words
  • The Totnamites - Spurs Song
  • Elvis Presley - Surrender
  • Roy Orbison - Running Scared
  • Danny Williams - We Will Never Be As Young As This Again
  • Russ Conway - Pablo
  • Eden Kane - Well I Ask You
Disc 2:
  • Ricky Nelson - Hello Mary Lou
  • Ricky Nelson - Travellin' Man
  • Gene Vincent - She She Little Sheila
  • Benny Hill - Transistor Radio
  • Andy Stewart - The Battle's O'er
  • Max Bygraves - Bells Of Avignon
  • Mark Wynter - Exclusively Yours
  • Adam Wade - Take Good Care Of Her
  • Jo Ann Campbell - Motorcycle Michael
  • The Outlaws - Ambush
  • The Marcels - Summertime
  • Jimmy Crawford - Love Or Money
  • Tony Bennett - Climb Ev'ry Mountain
  • Everly Brothers - Temptation
  • The Temperance Seven - Pasadena
  • Anthony Newley - Pop Goes The Weasel
  • Anthony Newley - Bee Bom
  • Connie Francis - Breakin' In A Brand New Broken Heart
  • Eddie Cochran - Weekend
  • Ken Dodd - Once In Every Lifetime
  • Al Caiola - The Magnificent Seven
  • Cliff Richard - A Girl Like You
  • Karl Denver - Marcheta
  • Duane Eddy - Ring Of Fire
  • Garry Mills - I'll Step Down
  • Ben E. King - Stand By Me
  • Tommy Cooper - Don't Jump Off The Roof Dad
Disc 3:
  • Helen Shapiro - You Don't Know
  • Craig Douglas - Time
  • Buddy Holly - Baby I Don't Care
  • Buddy Holly - Valley Of Tears
  • Pat Boone - Moody River
  • Bobby Darin - Nature Boy
  • Johnny & the Hurricanes - Old Smokie
  • Johnny & the Hurricanes - High Voltage
  • Danny Williams - The Miracle Of You
  • Bob Wallis & His Storyville Jazz Band - I'm Shy Mary Ellen I'm Shy
  • Petula Clark - Romeo
  • Clarence 'Frogman' Henry - You Always Hurt The One You Love
  • Mr. Acker Bilk & His Paramount Jazz Band - That's My Home
  • Brook Benton - Boll Weevil Song
  • Gary 'U.S.' Bonds - Quarter To Three
  • Adam Faith - Don't You Know It
  • Brenda Lee - Dum Dum
  • Floyd Cramer - San Antonio Rose
  • Shirley Bassey - Reach For The Stars
  • Shirley Bassey - Climb Ev'ry Mountain
  • Sam Cooke - Cupid
  • The Fireballs - Quite A Party
  • Marty Wilde - Hide And Seek
  • Nero & The Gladiators - In The Hall Of The Mountain King
  • Fats Domino - It Keeps Rainin'
  • Joe Loss - Wheels Cha Cha
  • John Leyton - Johnny Remember Me
Disc 4:
  • Bobby Vee - How Many Tears
  • Anthony Newley - What Kind Of Fool Am I'
  • Bobby Angelo and the Tuxedos - Baby Sittin'
  • Johnny Burnette - Girls
  • Alex Welsh - Tansy
  • Tommy Steele - Writing On The Wall
  • Chubby Checker - Let's Twist Again
  • Clinton Ford - Too Many Beautiful Girls
  • The Velvets - Tonight (Could Be The Night)
  • Brook Brothers - Ain't Gonna Wash For A Week
  • Dorothy Squires & Russ Conway - Say It With Flowers
  • Jan & Dean - Heart And Soul
  • Joe Barry - I'm A Fool To Care
  • Lonnie Donegan - Michael Row The Boat Ashore
  • Lonnie Donegan - Lumbered
  • Don Gibson - Sea Of Heartbreak
  • Kenny Ball and his Jazzmen - Someday (You'll Be Sorry)
  • The Springfields - Breakaway
  • Gene Vincent - I'm Going Home
  • Curtis Lee - Pretty Little Angel Eyes
  • Los Machucambos - Pepito
  • Terry Lightfoot & His New Orleans Jazzmen - True Love
  • The Highwaymen - Michael Row The Boat Ashore
  • The Shadows - Kon-Tiki
  • Al Saxon - There I've Said It Again
  • Elvis Presley - Wild In The Country
  • Elvis Presley - I Feel So Bad

Additional Details

Label: Acrobat

Genre: Pop/Rock

Run Time: 180 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 06/19/12

UPC: 824046703820

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed