Alvino Rey - Collection 1940-50 (CD)


$ 17.90


Alvino Rey played with the orchestras of Ev Jones and Phil Spitalny during the 1930s,

Born Alvin McBurney in California in 1908, guitarist Alvino Rey played with the orchestras of Ev Jones and Phil Spitalny during the 1930s, changing his name to take advantage of the popularity of Latin music in New York, where he was working. He came to prominence playing pedal steel guitar with Horace Heidt's Musical Knights in the late' 30s, and having married Louise King of The King Sisters, launched his own band in 1939 with The King Sisters providing vocals. Based at radio KHJ in Hollywood, he recorded for Bluebird and had his first hit in 1941. This great-value 50-track 2-CD set comprising selected A & B sides from his releases on the Bluebird, RCA-Victor and Capitol labels from this era, including performances featuring The King Sisters, or individual members of the group, on vocals. Features all his nine career chart entries, including the No. 2 'I Said No', the No. 3 hits 'Deep In The Heart Of Texas' and 'Near You', and the top 10 hits 'Strip Polka', 'Cement Mixer (Put-Ti, Put-Ti)' and 'I'm Looking Over a Four Leaf Clover'. Many of the recordings naturally provide a showcase for different aspects of his virtuoso skill as a guitarist, but they also range across the spectrum of Latin, middle-of-the-road, big band and novelty pop, offering a rather different slant on the pop music of the 1940s from that typified by the mainstream 'sweet' orchestras of the era.


Cast & Crew


Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Row, Row, Row Your Boat
  • Tiger Rag
  • Nighty Night
  • William Tell Part 1
  • Amapola
  • Hindustan
  • Oh, For Heaven's Sake
  • Where You Are
  • If It's True
  • As I Remember You
  • Kiss The Boys Goodbye
  • In The Hall Of The Mountain King
  • Drowsy Old Riff
  • Dancing With A Dream
  • Don't Take Your Love From Me
  • On The Alamo
  • Idaho
  • You Are The Lyric (To The Love Song In My Heart)
  • Feed That Eagle
  • I Said No
  • Deep In The Heart Of Texas
  • Not A Star In Sight
  • Sing Your Worries Away
  • Blue Shadows And White Gardenias
  • Do You Miss Your Sweetheart (Like Your Sweetheart Misses You)
Disc 2:
  • Little Hawk
  • Music 'Til Dawn
  • Strip Polka
  • Dearly Beloved
  • The Ferris Wheel
  • Keep Smilin, Keep Laughin', Be Happy
  • When It's Moonlight On The Blue Pacific
  • Cement Mixer (Put-Ti-Put-Ti)
  • Bumble Boogie
  • (It's Gonna Depend On) The Way That The Wind Blows
  • Guitar Boogie
  • Among My Souvenirs
  • That's How Much I Love You
  • Midnight Masquerade
  • Bloop Bleep
  • Near You
  • Johnson Rag
  • I'm Looking Over A Four Leaf Clover
  • G-String Boogie
  • Bye Bye Blues
  • Spanish Boogie
  • Mama Blues
  • Ragging The Scale
  • Strummin' On The Old Banjo
  • Third Man Theme

Additional Details

Label: Acrobat

Genre: Latin

Language: English

Run Time: 142 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 09/11/20

UPC: 824046335021

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed