Arthur 'Big Boy' Crudup - Definitive Collection 1941-62 (CD)


$ 27.20


Arthur 'Big Boy' Crudup was was often known as 'The Father of Rock 'n' Roll',

Arthur 'Big Boy' Crudup was a Mississippi Delta blues guitarist, singer and noted songwriter who was often known as 'The Father of Rock 'n' Roll', because even in the early '40s he was playing in a style which unmistakeably provided many of the essential roots of the musical revolution that was still more than a decade distant. He wrote classic songs like 'That's All Right Mama', which became Elvis Presley's first commercial recording, and other songs covered by Elvis like 'My Baby Left Me'. He was a vital bridge between acoustic country blues and the electrified urban sound he developed after he hoboed his way to Chicago, and was among the first blues artists to play with bass and drums accompaniment. This great value 94-track 4-CD collection comprises all the records he made which were commercially released during the period covered by the anthology, encompassing his recordings which came out on the Bluebird, RCA, Checker, Trumpet, Champion, Groove and Fire labels. It gives a thorough and entertaining overview of the two key decades of his primary recording career.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • If I Get Lucky
  • Death Valley Blues
  • Kind Lover Blues
  • Black Pony Blues
  • Give Me A 3220
  • Raised To My Hand
  • Gonna Follow My Baby
  • Mean Old 'Frisco Blues
  • My Mama Don't Allow Me
  • Standing At My Window
  • Rock Me Mama [or Mamma]
  • Who's Been Foolin' You'
  • Cool Disposition
  • Keep Your Arms Around Me
  • I'm In The Mood
  • She's Gone
  • That's Your Red Wagon
  • Dirt Road Blues
  • So Glad You're Mine
  • Ethel Mae
  • No More Lovers
  • Katie May
  • Boy Friend Blues
Disc 2:
  • I Want My Lovin'
  • You Got To Reap
  • Crudup's After Hours
  • That's All Right
  • I Don't Know It
  • Chicago Blues
  • Train Fare Blues
  • Cry Your Blues Away
  • Gonna Be Some Changes Made
  • Crudup's Vicksburg Blues
  • That's Why I'm Lonesome
  • Just Like A Spider
  • Hey Mamaâ€'Everything's All Right
  • Someday
  • Hoodoo Lady Blues
  • Lonesome World To Me
  • Roberta Blues
  • Shout, Sister, Shout
  • Tired Of Worry
  • Dust My Broom
  • Hand Me Down My Walking Cane
  • Come Back Baby
  • Mercy Blues
Disc 3:
  • You Know That I Love You
  • She's Just Like Caldonia
  • Oo Wee Darling (Love Me With A Thrill) 
  • Mean Old Santa Fe
  • She Ain't Nothin' But Trouble
  • Behind Closed Doors
  • Anytime Is The Right Time
  • My Baby Left Me
  • Nobody Wants Me
  • Star Bootlegger
  • Too Much Competition
  • I'm Gonna Dig Myself A Hole
  • Where Did You Stay Last Night'
  • Love Me Mama
  • Second Man Blues
  • Pearly Lee
  • Do It If You Want To
  • Lookin' For My Baby
  • Goin' Back To Georgia
  • Mr. So And So
  • Keep On Drinkin'
  • Nelvina
  • Worried About You Baby
  • Late In The Evening
Disc 4:
  • Open Your Book (Daddy Wants To Read With You)
  • Tears In My Eyes
  • Gotta Find My Baby
  • Make A Little Love
  • I Wonder
  • My Baby Boogies All The Time
  • My Wife And Woman
  • The War Is Over
  • I Love My Baby
  • Fall On Your Knees And Pray
  • If You Ever Been To Georgia
  • She's Got No Hair
  • Mean Ole Frisco
  • Look On Yonder Wall
  • That's Alright
  • Ethel Mae
  • Too Much Competition
  • Standing At My Window
  • Rock Me, Mama
  • Greyhound Bus
  • Coal Black Mare
  • Katie Mae
  • Dig Myself A Hole
  • So Glad You're Mine

Additional Details

Label: Acrobat

Genre: Blues

Language: English

Run Time: 280 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 04/08/16

UPC: 824046709822

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed