Artie Shaw - Collection 1932-54 (CD)


$ 11.10


Artie Shaw was a unique personality in jazz, big band and swing music as clarinettist, bandleader, composer, arranger

Artie Shaw was a unique personality in jazz, big band and swing music - as clarinettist, bandleader, composer, and arranger, he pursued his own often idiosyncratic, original and some might say perverse approach to his music and career, and along the way produced some of the most popular and memorable recordings of the swing era. He came to prominence when in 1936 he introduced strings into the performance of what was effectively a chamber piece 'Interlude in B flat', and he kept strings as feature of his swing orchestra for a number of years. He reached the zenith of his popularity in the '40s with hits like 'Begin The Beguine', undoubtedly his best-known recording, 'Frenesi', a tune which he introduced to the jazz canon, and his composition 'Summit Ridge Drive', his success fuelled by his matinee idol good looks and his colourful private life. This great value 44-track 2-CD collection continues our popular and successful Jazz Legends series on the Fabulous label. It traces his career across the two decades and more from his earliest recordings in the early '30s through to his effective retirement from the music business in 1954. It includes some lesser known material from the '30s with other leader's bands - Roger Wolfe Kahn, Adrian Rollini, Wingy Manone, Red Norvo and Frankie Trumbauer before he formed his own orchestra, and it draw from recordings both by his full orchestra and the various incarnations of his breakdown ensemble The Gramercy Five. It's an enjoyable overview of the career of a master craftsman and unique jazz personality.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • My Silent Love
  • I Can't Believe It's True
  • Sittin' On A Log (Pettin' My Dog)
  • Never Had No Lovin'
  • Old Fashioned Love
  • S Wonderful
  • Interlude In B Flat
  • The Japanese Sandman
  • Sobbin' Blues
  • Born To Swing
  • All Alone
  • The Blues Pt. 1
  • Begin The Beguine
  • Nightmare
  • Copenhagen
  • Blue Interlude
  • Rosalie
  • Any Old Time
  • Frenesi
  • Summit Ridge Drive
  • Special Delivery Stomp
  • Star Dust
Disc 2:
  • When The Quail Come Back To San Quentin
  • Concerto For Clarinet
  • Moonglow
  • Beyond The Blue Horizon
  • Love Me A Little
  • Take Your Shoes Off, Baby
  • St James Infirmary Blues Pt. 1
  • Carnival
  • Lady Day
  • The Grabtown Grapple
  • Little Jazz
  • Mysterioso
  • Hop, Skip And Jump
  • They Can't Convince Me
  • Mood In Question
  • Krazy Kat
  • Crumbum
  • Count Every Star
  • My Little Nest Of Heavenly Blue
  • Tenderly
  • Besame Mucho
  • My Funny Valentine

Additional Details

Label: Fabulous

Genre: Jazz

Language: English

Run Time: 140 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 02/10/15

UPC: 824046204822

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed