Asylum Street Spankers - What? And Give Up Show Biz? (CD)

Save 15%
SKU: YD21408

$ 18.70 $ 21.99


Double live album from Spankers' off-Broadway run, combining a musical revue with tales of the ups and downs of life on the road.

A man works long hours at the circus, cleaning up after the animals and giving enemas to constipated elephants. A friend, observing the menial nature of the work, offers to help the man find another job. The man replies, 'What' And give up show biz'' The punch line to that worn-out vaudeville joke served as the title when the Asylum Street Spankers set up shop for two weeks in January 2008 at New York's Barrow Street Theatre to look back on their underwhelming career and complain about their place in the music world. Juicing their acclaimed live show with a double shot of theatricality, the Spankers presented a musical revue and memoir of the troupe's fourteen year history. Featuring many of the most popular songs in their large repertoire along with tales of the ups and downs of life on the road, the show ran for fourteen performances, garnering good critical response, strong ticket sales and many free drinks for the band. All fourteen shows were recorded, then edited to make this album. 'What' And Give Up Show Biz'' contains adult humor, including frank discussions of sexuality, drug use and/or rock and roll. It also contains four-part harmonies, blues, country, pop, jazz, rock and hip-hop songs, inventively clever arrangements, and a musical saw.

Bonus Materials

  • Includes bonus track 'Stick Magnetic Ribbons on Your SUV', nearing one million views on YouTube


Cast & Crew

Producer: N/A

Producers: N/A

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Ladies and Gentlemen... I've Wasted My Life
  • Everybody Loves My Baby
  • Nice Theater
  • My Country's Calling Me
  • Winning the War on Drugs
  • Blue Prelude
  • It's good to be here in, uh...
  • Why Do It Right'
  • Stanley and Wammo
  • Since I Met You Baby
  • Gig from Hell
  • Monkey Rag
  • The Morning Moron Mob
  • Medley of Burned Out Songs
  • Beer
  • Strange Talents
  • Leaf Blower
  • The Bus Story
  • Think About Your Troubles
  • Daddy Drinks Because You Cry
  • You Only Love Me For My Lunchbox
Disc 2:
  • Y'all like love songs'
  • My Baby in the CIA
  • Read thinner books
  • Asylum Street Blues
  • Breathin'
  • bathroom break
  • Big Noise From Winnetka
  • Hick Hop
  • Got My Mojo Workin'
  • take a good look...
  • My Favorite Record
  • Encore!
  • Blade of Grass
  • Requests'
  • Pakalolo Baby
  • Tight Like That
  • Wake and Bake
  • TV Party
  • goodnight
  • Stick Magnetic Ribbons on Your SUV

Additional Details

Label: Yellow Dog Records

Genre: Folk

Run Time: 126 mins

Release Date: 09/30/08

UPC: 823800140826

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

You may also like

Recently viewed