At Town Hall Party August 29 & Sept.5, 1959 (DVD)

Save 38%
SKU: BVD20039

$ 9.82 $ 15.95


Another DVD-album from the Bear Family Records - country DVD series - At Town Hall Party -

'Town Hall Party' was among the first of the country music shows to be seen on U. S. television, making its debut in early 1952 and running until early 1961. Staged every Saturday in a theatre in Compton, a suburb of Los Angeles, the stage was made up to look like an old barn, thus continuing the traditions of the various live shows that were first heard on the radio airwaves three decades earlier. 'Town Hall Party' was created with its own cast of regular performers and musicians, boasting a house that was virtually a 'who's who' of the West Coast scene comprising such as Joe Maphis, Merle Travis, Skeets McDonald, Johnny Bond and Tommy Duncan. Jay Stewart (who later hosted the TV quiz show 'Let's Make A Deal'), and Tex Ritter were the MCs. The weekly show presented an equally impressive guest list. Among the many guests to appear were Johnny Cash, Patsy Cline, Eddie Cochran, The Collins Kids, Freddie Hart, Wanda Jackson, George Jones, Merle Lindsay, Bob Luman, Carl Perkins, Jim Reeves, Marty Robbins, Hank Snow and Gene Vincent. -- Now 'Town Hall Party' is reborn on DVD. Launched in 2002, this continuing DVD series present both individual artists' performances, compiled from different appearances on 'Town Hall Party', and complete cast shows selected from specific dates. Completely remastered, and presented with full colour booklets, these releases fully captured the atmosphere, artistry and sounds of a bygone country music age

Track Listing

    • Ritter, Tex & Stewart, Jay - Introduction By Jay Stewart
    • Various - At Town Hall Party - Lil Liza Jane
    • Town Hall Party Cast - Conversation With Jay Stewart
    • Williams, Tex - Bumming Around
    • Williams, Tex - Teenage Prayer
    • Adams, Shirley - Drink Up And Go Home
    • Maddox, Fred - Detour
    • Dale, Doreen & Terry, Gordon.. - Cigarettes And Coffee Blues
    • Frizzell, Lefty - Who Built The Ark
    • Carson, Martha - A Lotta Lotta Women
    • Hensley, Harold & Lanham, Roy - Instrumental
    • Dooley, Bud - Down Yonder (Piano Instrumental)
    • Various - At Town Hall Party - New River Train
    • Terry, Gordon & Mize, Billy... - White Lightning
    • Terry, Gordon & Crofford, C... - Somebody Stole My Gal
    • Mize, Billy & Crofford, Cliff - Rock My Soul
    • Carson, Martha - Mona Lisa
    • Mcdonald, Skeets - Precious Memories
    • Terry, Gordon & Carson, Martha - Miss Lonely Hearts
    • Sterling, Jeannie - I Saw Your Face In The Moon
    • Williams, Charlie - I Got A Women
    • Luman, Bob - My Baby Walks All Over Me
    • Luman, Bob - Guitar Blues Instrumental
    • Snodgrass, Quincy - Conversation
    • Luman, Bob & Stewart, Joe - Boogie Guitar Instrumental

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Country

    Run Time: 92 mins

    Release Date: 02/01/10

    UPC: 4000127200396

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed