Back To Balboa – Stan Kenton-50th Anniversary Celebration (CD)

$ 15.99


Release Date: 02/11/13

The MAMA Foundation has put together 71 minutes of additional material from the May 1991 celebration of the 50th anniversary of the Stan Kenton orchestra's debut at the Rendezvous Ballroom in Newport Beach, Calif. A five-CD set was released several years ago. This latest discovery includes Kenton alumni and other musicians he influenced playing 11 tunes, including 'Jeannine,' 'Poor Butterfly,' 'In the Still of the Night,' 'I'll Remember April' and 'Stella by Starlight.' Bud Shank, Bob Cooper, Buddy Childers, Maynard Ferguson, Bob Florence, Bill Holman, Marty Paich and others are in the cast as players or conductors, and even without the maestro himself, the Kenton touch is evident throughout. If you like this one, you'll want to inquire about the original five-CD set, which includes the same musicians, plus Chris Connor.

1. Jeannine(5:58)
2. Poor Butterfly(6:48)
3. Hit and Run(9:00)
4. Goodbye Pork Pie Hat(5:37)
5. In the Still of the Night(6:28)
6. Willowcrest(5:00)
7. I'll Remember April(7:50)
8. Manoir de Mes Reves(6:05)
9. The Doctor Is Out(3:04)
10. Stella by Starlight(5:25)
11. Neophonic Impressions(10:00)

Label: MAMA Records
Genre: Jazz
Run Time: 40 mins

Payment & Security

American Express Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

NOTE: International orders are shipped using FedEx International Mail Service. Delivery can take up to 8 weeks and no tracking number is provided by this service. This is done to reduce shipping costs. If you require faster shipping or shipping with tracking, please contact us for a shipping cost.

You may also like

Recently viewed