Blowing The Fuse 1955-classics That Rocked (CD)

Save 38%
SKU: BCD16710

$ 14.15 $ 22.99


Another CD-album from the Bear Family Records - Rhythm & Blues CD series - Blowing The Fuse -

The annual committee of the German record review awards has awarded the CD series Nowadays, when journalists talk about '50 years of pop music' they are ignoring the fact that popular music existed prior to 1955. Pop music did not appear from nowhere but has a rich 'pre' history. Keywords like Big Band Sound, Gospel, Jump Blues, Vocal Groups and Boogie Woogie characterize this period. The first eleven compact discs in the 'Blowing The Fuse'-series are a compilation splendid in sound and detail, dealing with important years in the progress of pop music in the range of black r&b, imaginatively compiled by the Canadian collector and DJ Dave 'Daddy Cool' Booth, and knowledgeably annotated by Hank Williams-biographer Colin Escott.

Berlin, November 19, 2005
Critics raved. Finally a series that really made sense of the wealth of music from R&B's early years! Now that series is complete. Here are the years 1956-1960, and here's why 'Blowing The Fuse' will be the standard for R&B reissues now and forever!

YEARS! YEARS! YEARS! Many companies have issued compilations of out-of-copyright recordings (ie. records more than 50 years old). That's why you'll find that their series stop at 1955. Bear Family's 'Blowing The Fuse' starts at the dawn of the Post-War R&B era in 1945, and now goes through until 1960! And, unlike the out-of-copyright labels who won't get to 1960 until 2011, we're there now because Bear Family pays the companies that own the music

PACKAGING! PACKAGING! PACKAGING! Other labels lift photos from old books and magazines, and commission quickie liner notes that tell you little or nothing, and often get it wrong. Bear Family's 'Blowing The Fuse' has detailed song-by-song notes, stories behind the songs, and incredible never-before-seen photos in huge booklets ... Read more at:

Track Listing

    • Houston, Joe - Tweedlee Dee
    • Baker, Lavern - Reconsider Baby
    • Fulson, Lowell - Sincerely
    • Moonglows - You Don't Have To Go
    • Reed, Jimmy - The Wall Flower (aka Roll With Me Henry)
    • James, Etta - Earth Angel (Will You Be Mine)
    • Penguins - I Got A Woman
    • Charles, Ray - Ko Ko Mo
    • Gene & Eunice - Pledging My Love
    • Ace, Johnny - My Babe
    • Little Walter & His Jukes - Flip, Flop And Fly
    • Turner, Big Joe - What'cha Gonna Do
    • Mcphatter, Clyde & Drifters - Story Untold
    • Nutmegs - Bo Diddley
    • Diddley, Bo - Don't Be Angry
    • Brown, Nappy - Why Don't You Write Me'
    • Jacks - It's Love Baby (24 Hours A Day)
    • Brooks, Louis - Ain't It A Shame
    • Domino, Fats - Feel So Good
    • Shirley & Lee - Maybellene
    • Berry, Chuck - I Hear You Knocking
    • Lewis, Smiley - At My Front Door (Crazy Little Mama)
    • El Dorados - Don't Start Me To Talkin'
    • Williamson, Sonny Boy - Only You
    • Platters - When You Dance
    • Turbans - Tutti Frutti
    • Little Richard - Hands Off
    • Jay Mcshann's Orch. - Smokey Joe's Café
    • Robins - All Around The World

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: R & B

    Run Time: 79 mins

    Release Date: 01/02/07

    UPC: 4000127167101

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed