Bob Dylan & The Band - Basement Tapes Influences (CD)

Save 75%

$ 5 $ 19.99


CD compilation bringing together the originals versions of 26 tracks from Bob Dylan & The Band's 'The Basement Tapes'.

The recordings that took place during 1967 in the quiet backwaters of upstate New York, near the town of Woodstock, probably represent Bob Dylan's most productive song writing period to date.

In March of 1967, almost nine months after falling from his motorcycle, Dylan recommenced music-making and in May/June he began recording informal sessions with the Hawks - soon to become The Band - in the 'Red Room' at his Byrdcliffe home. The distractions of family life soon became too much however and the musicians relocated to the unremarkable pink painted property that would come to be known as 'The Big Pink'. Dylan would later tell Rolling Stone, 'That's really the way to do a recording, in a peaceful, relaxed setting in somebody's basement. With the windows open... and a dog lying on the floor.' Working in their makeshift studio became a daily ritual and between June and late October '67, the musicians committed well over a 100 songs to tape.

The sessions, which would become known as 'The Basement Tapes', produced a kaleidoscope of American music and more. Alongside the tracks composed by Dylan, the musicians summoned up cowboy songs ('Cool Water'); sea shanties ('Bonnie Ship The Diamond'); blues (John Lee Hooker's 'I'm In The Mood'), country (Hank Williams and lots of Johnny Cash) and several traditional songs ('The Trees They Do Grow High', 'Hills Of Mexico'). Guitarist Robbie Robertson told Greil Marcus: '[Dylan] would pull these songs out of nowhere. We didn't know if he wrote them or if he remembered them. When he sang them you couldn't tell.'

This CD compilation collects together the originals - or the version that Dylan likely knew - of 26 of the tracks recorded during this sublime period of creativity, undertaken while the majority of American and British act were dabbling in acid fuelled psychedelia, the majority of which today sounds nothing but dated.

Track Listing

    • The Trees They Do Grow High
    • The Hills Of Mexico
    • Be Careful Of Stones That You Throw
    • A Fool Such As I
    • Silhouettes
    • Bonnie Ship The Diamond
    • I Don't Hurt Anymore
    • Spanish Is The Loving Tongue
    • Rosin le Beau
    • 900 Miles
    • Cool Water
    • Goin' Down TheRoad Feelin' Bad
    • Po' Lazarus
    • I Forgot To Remember To Forget
    • You Win Again
    • Waltzin' With Sin
    • Big River
    • Folsom Prison Blues
    • The Bells Of Rhymney
    • Tupelo Blues
    • I'm In The Mood
    • Ya Gotta Quit Kickin' My Dog Aroun' Gid Tanner
    • All American Boy
    • Wildwood Flower
    • Confidential
    • See That My Grave Is kept Clean

    Additional Details

    Label: Chrome Dreams

    Genre: Pop/Rock

    Run Time: 76 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 04/09/13

    UPC: 823564629728

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed