Bob Luman - Rocks (CD)

Save 38%
SKU: BCD16985

$ 12.92 $ 20.99


1 CD Digipac with 84-page booklet, Rock'n'Roll, tracks 36, playing time approx. 77:47

Contains a generous 36 tracks: the equivalent of a two-CD set
Presents the best of Bob Luman 'rockin' sides
Contains rare Texas demos and originally unissued Imperial and Capitol tracks from 1957 and '58
A feast for guitar fans, featuring the work of legendary pickers like James Burton, Eddie Cochran and Roy Buchanan
Offers Bear Family's critically acclaimed sound quality - these original tapes have never sounded so good!
Bob Luman - Big, good looking, a fine singer, and a hell of an entertainer. Women loved him and men admired him. Bob Luman had it all.

Bob Luman's entire recording career has been documented by Bear Family Records on two critically acclaimed box sets and a DVD of vintage performances. Now, the rockin' best of these two sets is available on a single CD, drawn largely from Bob Luman's earliest years. These tracks - including originally unissued material - offer ample proof of why Bob Luman is an icon to rockabilly collectors today.

You'll hear not only the finest in Bob Luman's virile vocals, including his biggest hit Let's Think About Living, but also the stunning lead guitar work by the legendary James Burton. Sample the performances that led fellow Imperial Records artist Ricky Nelson to wrestle Luman's band away from him after the two men first met in Los Angeles in 1957.

Included with this 36 track set is a detailed biography of the Texas rocker Bob Luman by music historian Hank Davis, based on exclusive interviews with Luman's friends, fellow musicians (including Burton) and family members. Learn how an aspiring baseball player and country singer changed his tune almost overnight after witnessing a vintage Elvis Presley performance in August, 1955. Bob Luman's story is almost mythical and this collection is a worthy addition to Bear Family's highly regarded 'Rocks' collection of pioneering individual artists. It's all here, on a single generously programmed CD.

Track Listing

    • Red Hot
    • Stranger Than Fiction
    • Blue Days, Black Nights
    • You're The Cause Of It All
    • All Night Long
    • That's Alright
    • Whenever You're Ready
    • Hello Baby
    • Red Cadillac And A Black Mustache
    • In The Deep Dark Jungle
    • This Is The Night
    • Make Up Your Mind Baby (wild version)
    • Your Love
    • Wild Eyed Woman
    • No Use in Lying
    • Guitar Picker
    • Everybody's Talkin'
    • I Know My Baby Cares
    • Try Me
    • Svengali
    • My Baby Walks All Over Me
    • Loretta (take 4)
    • Boom Boom Boom Yippy Yi Ya (take 5)
    • Buttercup
    • Let's Think About Living
    • You've Got Everything
    • Why, Why, Bye, Bye
    • Old Friends
    • Bad Bad Day
    • I Love You Because
    • Meet Mr. Mud
    • The Great Snowman
    • Boston Rocker
    • Oh Boy
    • Johnny B. Goode
    • Mystery Train

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Pop/Rock

    Run Time: 78 mins

    Release Date: 01/02/07

    UPC: 4000127169853

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed