Bobby Mitchell - I'm Gonna Be A Wheel Someday (CD)

Save 38%
SKU: BCD15961

$ 46.15 $ 74.99


2-CD box (LP-size) with 20-page book, 47 tracks. Playing time approx. 111 mns

Continuing our exploration of New Orleans R&B on the classic Imperial label, we're pleased to announce that we've assembled the complete Imperial recordings of the hugely under-rated Bobby Mitchell. Although he recorded the original versions of I'm Gonna Be A Wheel Someday (later recorded with great success by Fats Domino) and You Always Hurt The One You Love (later recorded with even greater success by Clarence Frogman Henry), Bobby Mitchell has never got his due either as a singer or songwriter. It's no exaggeration to say that he was second only to Fats Domino for his success in showing how New Orleans R&B could adapt to rock 'n' roll. The fabulous '50s New Orleans sound is more popular than ever now, and Bobby Mitchell is one of the great neglected talents. It's time for a little belated recognition.
This compilation also contains his Sho-Biz, Ron and Rip recordings.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • I'm Crying
  • Rack 'Em Back
  • I'm A Young Man
  • Angel Child
  • The Wedding Bells Are Ringing
  • Meant For Me
  • One Friday Morning
  • 4 x 11 = 44
  • Baby's Gone
  • Sister Lucy
  • She Couldn't Be Found
  • Schoolboy Blues
  • Nothing Sweet As You
  • I Cried
  • I Wish I Knew
  • I'm In Love
  • Try Rock & Roll
  • I Fell For You
  • You Are My Angel
  • No No No
  • I Try So Hard
  • Goin' Round In Circles
  • I've Got My Fingers Crossed
  • How Long (Must I Wait)
Disc 2:
  • Sixty Four Hours
  • You Always Hurt The One You Love
  • I Love To Hold You (More And More)
  • I Would Like To Know
  • I'm Gonna Be A Wheel Someday
  • You Better Go Home
  • You're Going To Be Sorry
  • Hearts Of Fire
  • Well, I Done Got Over It
  • Just Say You Love Me
  • Send Me Your Picture
  • You're Doing Me Wrong
  • There's Only One Of You
  • Mama Don't Allow
  • When First We Met
  • I'll Fiddle While You Cry
  • Oh Yeah
  • My Southern Belle
  • Got To Call That Number
  • I Never Knew What Hit Me
  • I Don't Want To Be A Wheel No More
  • Walking In Circles
  • You Got The Nerve

Additional Details

Label: Bear Family Records

Genre: R & B

Run Time: 111 mins

Release Date: 01/02/07

UPC: 4000127159618

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed