Bobby Sanabria & Multiverse Big Band - West Side Story Reimagined (CD)

SKU: JH1231

$ 21.99


<b>''Record of the Year'' winner The Jazz Journalists Association</b> and Grammy Nominated as ''Best Latin Jazz Album''

A Latin Jazz reworking of West Side Story by Multi-Grammy nominated Bobby Sanabria MULTIVERSE Big Band

Hi Bobby Sanabria here! Two years ago I came up with the idea of re-arranging the music from Leonard Bernstein's masterpiece West Side Story and performing it with my Multiverse Big Band, but in a way that has never been done before: a complete Latin jazz reworking of the entire score in celebration of the show's recent 60th anniversary and Maestro Bernstein's centennial. However, besides paying tribute to the composer and the music, I saw this as an opportunity to give back and help my ancestral homeland Puerto Rico.

As most of us know, hurricanes Irma and Maria ravaged the island of Puerto Rico, leaving its residents unable to recover. Puerto Ricans have been American citizens since 1917, and the government's response has been unsatisfactory at best. Six months later, entire communities are still living without food, water, power, and other basic needs we take for granted. I realized the best way I could help was through my music. What better way to portray the struggles and hardships of the people of Puerto Rico than West Side Story? We are dedicating this recording to the musical genius of Leonard Bernstein and donating proceeds from this special commemorative 2 CD set to the Jazz Foundation of America Puerto Rico Relief Fund. This is a cause many of us are passionate about and every bit of generosity helps. Recorded live at Dizzy's Club Coca-Cola in NYC, this exciting new reworking is West Side Story like you've never heard it before, through the exciting lens of the Latin jazz continuum.

This project is being produced with the blessing and support of the Leonard Bernstein Organization. Bernstein's daughter Jamie remarked: 'What I love about Bobby Sanabria's take on 'West Side Story' music is that it's a kind of rhythm fission: my dad's music is already so drenched in rhythm. Then along comes Bobby and explodes it to an even richer rhythmic level!'

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Intro
  • Prologue
  • Intro Jet Song
  • Jet Song
  • Intro America
  • America
  • Gee, Officer Krupke Intro
  • Gee, Officer Krupke
  • Tonight
  • Gym Scene - Blues/Mambo
  • Gym Scene - Cha Cha Cha
Disc 2:
  • Maria
  • Intro Cool
  • Cool
  • The Rumble /Rumba
  • One Hand, One Heart
  • Somewhere
  • Intro Epilogue/Finale
  • Epilogue/Finale
  • Outro

Additional Details

Label: Jazzheads

Genre: Jazz

Language: English

Run Time: 68:38 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 07/20/18

UPC: 098191231280

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed