Bobby Williamson - Sh-boom-life Could Be A Dream (CD)

Save 38%
SKU: BCD16843

$ 11.69 $ 18.99


1-CD with 32-page booklet, 22 tracks. Playing time approx. 52 mns

Classic East Texas Music. The superb cover of the 1954 Pop Hit Sh-Boom. The complete commercial output of Bobby Williamson. Includes his Dallas as well as his Nashville recordings.

Bobby Williamson is typical of regional stars of the Golden Age of Country Music, a singer who enjoyed admirable success within a couple of hundred miles of his home base but who never broke out to national stardom. A star of two of the biggest country music shows in the Southwest, the 'Big D Jamboree' and the 'Saturday Night Shindig', Bobby Williamson is probably best remembered for his covers of the hits Bummin' Around and particularly the 1954 rock 'n' roll hit Sh-Boom, but they are hardly his only shining moments. The consistent string of singles he cut during 1952-1954 proved that he had the voice and the delivery to make it big. He had the looks and personality, too. He nevertheless left an engaging legacy in his brief recording career and this collection gives long overdue reconsideration to one of Texas's brightest stars of the 1950s.

Bear Family has collected all 22 of Bobby Williamsons' sides, including two unissued tracks, which will hopefully go some way to restoring his fading memory. In addition to Bummin' Around and Sh-Boom, there are a slew of fine ballads like There's No Escape and I Remember, and some infectious uptempo novelties, from Bobby Williamson's own Just Skip It and A Little Bit Of This to the singular ephemera of Love March. Also heard are some of the best country musicians of the era, from Bobby Williamson's Dallas cohorts like Leon Rhodes, Jimmy Kelley and Paul Buskirk, to Nashville sessions stalwarts like Chet Atkins, Jerry Byrd and Homer & Jethro.

Track Listing

    • Let Me Know
    • The House Of Broken Dreams
    • Another Story Told
    • Can't Help Wonderin' (Can't Help Cryin')
    • A Little Bit Of This (A Little Bit Of That)
    • There's No Escape
    • My Gal Comes From Heaven
    • Where Were You Last Night
    • I Remember
    • Recipe For Love
    • When I'm A Hundred Years Old
    • Just Skip It
    • I Need Everything
    • Bummin' Around
    • There's Nothing As Great (As Being In Love..)
    • Chances Are
    • Yo Yo Heart
    • Steady Diet
    • Sh-Boom (Life Could Be A Dream)
    • Love March
    • Lovin' Around
    • I'll Only Dance With You

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Country

    Run Time: 52 mins

    Release Date: 01/02/07

    UPC: 4000127168436

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed