Carl Mann - Rocks (CD)

SKU: BCD16684

$ 15.74 $ 20.99


1-CD-Album Digipak (6-plated) with 46-page booklet, 35 tracks. Playing time approx. 78 mns

Contains the best of Carl Mann's rockin' Sun sides and more, replacing the out-of-print box set formerly issued by Bear Family!
Contains both early demo and alternate take versions, as well as the original 45 of Carl Mann's greatest hit, Mona Lisa.
Features three versions of the highly collectable Rockin Love, including the original Jaxon single.
Showcases the spectacular electric guitar work of legendary musician Eddie Bush.
Contains Carl Mann's most effective Philips International single, the Charlie Rich rocker I'm Coming Home, copied note-for-note by Elvis on his very next LP
Includes newly researched biography, discography and vintage photos.

Carl Mann grew up just down the road from Memphis, where the rockabilly revolution was taking place during the mid-1950s. By the time Carl Mann got to Sun Records, as part of a group that included drummer W. S. Holland, most of Sun's reputation was already firmly in place.

The tapes of Mona Lisa, Carl Mann's biggest hit record, sat unissued in the Sun studio where they might have remained if Conway Twitty had not flipped over them in early 1959 and produced a cover version at his next recording session. With Conway Twitty's record of Mona Lisa starting to chart, Sun was forced to release their own original version by Carl Mann. Mona Lisa became a Top 20 record in the summer of 1959, spending 16 weeks on the 'Billboard' charts.

Carl Mann was far more than a 'one hit wonder.' This CD offers a detailed look at the surprisingly powerful body of work Carl Mann recorded during a relatively brief period of time. Although unfairly cast into the role of 'rockin' up the standards, Carl Mann had a lot more to say musically than uptempo versions of Nat Cole hits (Mona Lisa had been a # 1 hit by Nat Cole in 1950). The best of Carl Mann's work is on display on this fine disc...Read more at:

Track Listing

    • Mona Lisa (master)
    • South Of The Border (master)
    • Rockin' Love (master)
    • Hey Baby Doll (Eddie Bush)
    • I'm Coming Home
    • Some Enchanted Evening (master)
    • Pretend
    • Island Of Love
    • Look At That Moon
    • Ain't Got No Home
    • If I Ever Needed You
    • The Wayward Wind
    • When I Grow Too Old To Dream
    • Mona Lisa (alt.)
    • Kansas City
    • Take These Chains From My Heart
    • Rockin' Love (alt.)
    • Too Young
    • Blueberry Hill
    • Stop The World And Let Me Off
    • South Of The Border (alt.)
    • Because Of You
    • Ubangi Stomp
    • Ain't You Got No Lovin' For Me
    • I'm Walking The Dog
    • Baby I Don't Care
    • Mountain Dew (alt.)
    • Foolish One
    • Walkin' And Thinkin'
    • Gonna Rock & Roll Tonight
    • Satellite #2
    • Rockin' Love
    • Old Lonesome Time
    • Mona Lisa (demo)

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Pop/Rock

    Run Time: 78 mins

    Release Date: 01/02/07

    UPC: 4000127166845

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed