Carl Smith - Gonna Shake This Shack Tonight: Hey Joe! (CD)

SKU: BCD16943

$ 14.24 $ 18.99


1-CD-Album Digipack with 40-page booklet, 34 tracks, playing time: 81:04 minutes

An exclusive collection of his rare uptempo country and rockabilly recordings, tailored for today's rockabilly fans! Includes a fabulous version of Eddie Cochran's rock 'n' roll classic Cut Across Shorty!

Country Music Hall Of Fame member Carl Smith was once one of the biggest names in country music, but today he is largely forgotten. Bear Family is rectifying that oversight. First came the box set, 'Satisfaction Guaranteed,' and now there's an exclusive compilation for the 'Gonna Shake This Shack Tonight' series. This is the best of Carl Smith's uptempo hillbilly, proto-rockabilly and hardcore honky-tonk in one great package. From early numbers like Go Boy Go to Carl Smith's rockabilly remake of his big hit If Teardrops Were Pennies. If you didn't count yourself as a Carl Smith fan this will change your mind. Note: Even if you have the great Bear Family box set on Carl Smith, you need this disc for the amazing version of Eddie Cochran's Cut Across Shorty, not found on the box set! This CD is a must for anybody with even a passing interest in boppin' country and hillbilly boogie.

Track Listing

    • Hey Joe!
    • Go, Boy Go
    • Trademark
    • San Antonio Rose
    • Baby I'm Ready (1)
    • If You Want It, I've Got It
    • Goodnight Mister Sun
    • Dog-Gone It, Baby, I'm In Love
    • Let's Live A Little (1958 version)
    • That's The Way I Like You Best
    • No Trespassing
    • Lovin' Is Livin' (1952 version)
    • (When You Feel Like You're In Love) Don't Jus
    • Don't Tease Me
    • Our Honeymoon
    • Happy Street
    • Oh Stop!
    • More Than Anything Else In The World
    • If Teardrops Were Pennies (1958 version)
    • Baby I'm Ready (2)
    • Time's A Wastin' (& June Carter)
    • No, I Don't Believe I Will
    • Cut Across Shorty
    • A Love Was Born
    • Back Up Buddy
    • I Won't Be Mad, I'll Be Glad
    • Why, Why
    • Loose Talk
    • I Just Don't Care Any More
    • Mr. Lost
    • Lonely Girl
    • Be Good To Her
    • It's All My Heartache
    • Try To Take It Like Man

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Country

    Run Time: 81 mins

    Release Date: 03/29/10

    UPC: 4000127169433

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed