Charlie Christian - The Charlie Christian Collection 1939-41 (CD)


$ 6


This is part of a mini-series on our competitively priced budget label Fabulous under the banner of Jazz Legends,

This is part of a mini-series on our competitively priced budget label Fabulous under the banner of Jazz Legends, presenting some of great and influential names of jazz, with recordings drawn from the classic era of the genre's development between 1920 and 1950. Charlie Christian was one of the key figures who shaped the development of jazz guitar, in particular the use of the amplified electric guitar. His use of the single-string solo technique, aided by the amplification which brought the instrument out of the rhythm section and into front-line solos, revolutionised the role of the guitar in jazz, especially in a small group context. Despite his tragically short life - he died from tuberculosis in 1942 when he was 25 - his prolific activity during his two years or so of recording, coming as it did at the beginning of the '40s, made him a key figure in the development of bebop. This great value 24-track collection comprises recordings which he made from the time he joined Benny Goodman's Sextet in summer of 1939, through to just before he succumbed to illness in June 1941, primarily with Goodman's band but also including other work, including a track from the legendary Minton's Playhouse jam sessions which were the genesis of bebop. It's an entertaining and enlightening snapshot of a career which had an influence way beyond its short span.

Track Listing

    • Flying Home
    • Rose Room
    • Stardust
    • Haven't Named It Yet
    • Seven Come Eleven (Roast Turkey Stomp)
    • Shivers
    • Grand Slam (Boy Meets Goy)
    • It's just like taking candy from a baby
    • Ad Lib Blues
    • Dickie's Dream (Lester's Dream)
    • Wholly Cats
    • Royal Garden Blues
    • As Long As I Live
    • I've Found A New Baby
    • Gone With What Draft
    • Breakfast Feud
    • Jammin' In Four
    • Solo Flight
    • Waitin' For Benny (A Smooth One)
    • A Smoo-ooth One
    • Air Mail Special
    • Ida (Sweet As Apple Cider)
    • Topsy (Charlie's Choice) (Swing To Bop Pt. 2)
    • Smoke Gets In Your Eyes

    Additional Details

    Label: Fabulous

    Genre: Jazz

    Language: English

    Run Time: 76 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 10/01/13

    UPC: 824046035228

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed