Chuck Berry - In The 1950s (CD)

Save 15%
SKU: CD3CD5073

$ 12.80 $ 14.99


Every track released between 1954 and 1960, plus bonus selections. 70 cuts in all.

He was 29 before he made his first record and already had a string of criminal convictions behind him, but the man christened Charles Edward Anderson Berry must have been pre-destined to become the best song-writer of the Rock n' Roll era, the composer who'd create the blueprint that came to define the entire Rock idiom with tracks like 'Johnny B Goode' and 'Roll Over Beethoven', the guitarist who'd invent the licks that every half-decent player must learn at first base and the most charismatic performers of the 1950s - how else could such an unlikely candidate achieve so much?
Chuck Berry still performs today of course, at the ripe old age of 85, as he has been doing for close to 60 years, but few would disagree that Chuck's finest work came between the day in 1955 that he signed a deal with Chess Records of Chicago, and his 1961 conviction and subsequent incarceration for transporting a minor over a state line.
This 3 CD set features every track Chuck made or played on during this era - singles, B Sides, album tracks and rarities, to make for one of the finest collection of recorded music ever committed to tape.
The set includes de-luxe 'oyster-box' packaging, inner card covers recreating original LP sleeves and 20 page booklet with extensive notes by R 'n'B and Jazz expert Charles Waring.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • School Days
  • Deep Feeling
  • Too Much Monkey Business
  • Wee Wee Hours
  • Roly Poly
  • No Money Down
  • Brown Eyed Handsome Man
  • Berry Pickin'
  • Together (We'll Always Be)
  • Havana Moon
  • Downbound Train
  • Drifting Heart
  • Sweet Little Sixteen
  • Blue Feeling
  • La Juanda
  • Rockin' At The Philharmonic
  • Oh Baby Doll
  • Guitar Boogie
  • Reelin' And Rockin'
  • In-Go
  • Rock And Roll Music
  • How You've Changed
  • Low Feeling
  • It Don't Take But A Few Minutes
Disc 2:
  • Almost Grown
  • Carol
  • Maybelline
  • Sweet Little Rock n Roller
  • Anthony Boy
  • Johnny B. Goode
  • Little Queenie
  • Jo Jo Gunne
  • Roll Over Beethoven
  • Around and Around
  • Hey Pedro
  • Blues For Hawaiians
  • Bye Bye Johnny
  • Worried Life Blues
  • Down The Road A Piece
  • Confessin' The Blues
  • Too Pooped To Pop
  • Mad Lad
  • I Got To Find My Baby
  • Betty Jean
  • Childhood Sweetheart
  • Broken Arrow
  • Driftin' Blues
  • Let It Rock
Disc 3:
  • Thirty Days
  • You Can't Catch Me
  • Beautiful Delilah
  • Vacation Time
  • Merry Christmas Baby
  • Run Rudolph Run
  • That's My Desire
  • Back In The USA
  • Memphis Tennessee
  • Jaguar and the Thunderbird
  • Our Little Rendezvous
  • Oh Maria
  • I Hope These Words Will Find You Well
  • Say You'll Be Mine
  • Let Me Sleep Women
  • Roll Over Beethoven (Live Alan Freed Show 1956)
  • Memphis Tennessee (Live, Mike Douglas Show 1972)
  • Interview (Mike Douglas Show 1972)
  • Johnny B. Goode (Live, Mike Douglas Show 1972)
  • Interview (John Davidson Show 1980)
  • Interview (FM Radio 1983)
  • Interview (Tonight Show 1987)

Additional Details

Label: Chrome Dreams

Genre: Pop/Rock

Run Time: 199 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 02/07/12

UPC: 823564620428

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

You may also like

Recently viewed