Chuck Berry - The Complete Chess Singles As & Bs 1955-61 (CD)


$ 17.90


Chuck Berry was one of the key figures in the rock 'n' roll explosion of the mid-'50s

Chuck Berry was one of the key figures in the rock 'n' roll explosion of the mid-'50s, as musical styles that had been part of R&B and country for a number of years came together in a cross-cultural hothouse fuelled by the power of mass media and the rebellious attitudes of the baby boom generation. So distinctive and individual are Chuck's guitar technique and songwriting style that his hits from that era have become some of the touchstones which characterise the whole genre of rock 'n' roll. His trademark guitar intros and riffs, and songs like 'Johnny B. Goode' and 'Roll Over Beethoven' have become part of the universal language of rock 'n' roll to the extent that any group of reasonably competent musicians could perform a passable version of them without a rehearsal. Signed to the Chess label on Muddy Waters recommendation in 1955, he scored a million seller with his first hit 'Maybellene', and over the next few years recorded a string of classics, the songs articulating the experiences of teen life and the new consumerism in brilliantly observed lyrics as well as a musical style that combined the best of R&B and country. Even B sides like 'Round And Round', 'Reeling And Rocking' and 'Memphis Tennessee' have become classics which have been essential elements of many bands' repertoire over the years. This great value 50-track 2-CD set comprises every A &B side released by Chuck during these phenomenal formative years, and it's a must-have for every true fan of rock 'n' roll.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Maybelline
  • Wee Wee Hours
  • Thirty Days (To Come Back Home)
  • Together (We Will Always Be)
  • No Money Down
  • The Downbound Train
  • Roll Over Beethoven
  • Drifting Heart
  • Brown Eyed Handsome Man
  • Too Much Monkey Business
  • You Can't Catch Me
  • Havana Moon
  • School Day (Ring! Ring! Goes The Bell)
  • Deep Feeling
  • Oh Baby Doll
  • La Jaunda
  • Rock And Roll Music
  • Blue Feeling
  • Sweet Little Sixteen
  • Reelin' And Rockin'
  • Johnny B. Goode
  • Around And Around
  • Beautiful Delilah
  • Vacation Time
  • Carol
Disc 2:
  • Hey Pedro
  • Sweet Little Rock and Roller
  • Jo Jo Gunne
  • Run Rudolph Run
  • Merry Christmas Baby
  • Anthony Boy
  • That's My Desire
  • Almost Grown
  • Little Queenie
  • Back In The U.S.A.
  • Memphis, Tennessee
  • Broken Arrow
  • Childhood Sweetheart
  • Let It Rock
  • Too Pooped to Pop
  • Bye Bye Johnny
  • Worried Life Blues
  • I Got To Find My Baby
  • Mad Lad
  • Jaguar And Thunderbird
  • Our Little Rendezvous
  • I'm Talking About You
  • Little Star
  • Come On
  • Go-Go-Go

Additional Details

Label: Acrobat

Genre: Pop/Rock

Language: English

Run Time: 145 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 03/10/15

UPC: 824046312220

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed