Clyde Stacy - Gonna Shake This Shack Tonight: Hoy Hoy (CD)

Save 38%
SKU: BCD17152

$ 11.69 $ 18.99


1-CD-Album DigiPac (4-plated) with 28-page booklet, 22 tracks, playing time 52:45

'Hoy Hoy' indeed! This record really rocks - 22 tracks recorded by an important but little-reissued Oklahoma-born singer from the classic era of rock 'n' roll! Here are all 12 tracks issued on six singles on the Candlelight, Bullseye, and Len record labels between 1957 and 1961! Also another 10 vocal and instrumental tracks not originally issued - and with Big Al Downing on piano! When Clyde Stacy's So Young/Hoy Hoy hit #68 in June 1957 it was the first Hot 100 entry by an artist based in the Lubbock area of Texas - beating Clyde Stacy's high school mate Buddy Holly by six months! Relocating to Pennsylvania in 1958, Clyde Stacy recorded in New York and registered Top 30 hits in Canada with So Young, Baby Shame and Nobody's Darling! Clyde Stacy's TV appearances included 'Bandstand' and 'The Patti Page Show'! The 28-page booklet by Wayne Russell expertly tells Clyde Stacy's story from Oklahoma to Lubbock, to Scranton and back home. It contains rare photographs and interviews with Clyde Stacy! Now, Clyde Stacy is scheduled to make his European debut at the Hemsby Rock 'n' Roll Weekender in May 2011, and plans to 'warm-up' at the Las Vegas Rockabilly Weekend in April. Clyde Stacy is back!

This CD is the first comprehensive look at the career of Clyde Stacy, a man who grew up in Tulsa, went to school in Lubbock with Buddy Holly, had a hit with a rocking version of the R&B song Hoy Hoy, moved to Scranton, appeared on 'Bandstand' and other TV shows, recorded in New York with top session men, saw many hits in Canada, and is still working country, blues, and rockabilly venues. His part in the story of rock 'n' roll has been little-known but is told here in words, pictures, and rocking music.

Track Listing

    • Dream Boy
    • Nobody's Darlin'
    • Hoy Hoy
    • Baby Shame
    • You Want Love
    • Honky Tonk Hardwood Floor
    • So Young
    • Summertime Blues
    • The Four Flames: Scotch On The Rocks (instr)
    • I Sure Do Love You Baby
    • Good Rockin' Tonight
    • The Four Flames: Transquilizer Cins (instr)
    • Live And Learn
    • Sit'in Down Crying
    • I'll Try
    • You're Satisfied
    • Once In A While
    • A Broken Heart (Is So Hard To Mend)
    • Well I Love You
    • Be My Love
    • End Up With The Blues
    • Return To Me

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Pop/Rock

    Run Time: 53 mins

    Release Date: 03/28/11

    UPC: 4000127171528

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed